W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > January 2011

Re: Request input on the potential usefulness of HTML to Platform Accessibility APIs Implementation Guide

From: Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>
Date: Mon, 17 Jan 2011 17:02:16 +0100
To: "David Bolter" <dbolter@mozilla.com>, "Cynthia Shelly" <cyns@microsoft.com>, "Richard Schwerdtfeger" <schwer@us.ibm.com>, "Marco Zehe" <marco.zehe@googlemail.com>, "James Craig" <jcraig@apple.com>, "Loretta Guarino Reid" <Lorettaguarino@google.com>, "HTML Accessibility Task Force" <public-html-a11y@w3.org>, "Janina Sajka" <janina@rednote.net>, "Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, "Sam Ruby" <rubys@intertwingly.net>, "Maciej Stachowiak" <mjs@apple.com>, "Paul Cotton" <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "Steve Faulkner" <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
Cc: "Ian Hickson" <ian@hixie.ch>
Message-ID: <op.vpgmt2f3wxe0ny@widsith.eng.oslo.osa>
On Sat, 15 Jan 2011 16:41:58 +0100, Steve Faulkner  
<faulkner.steve@gmail.com> wrote:

> A number of people including myself , Cynthia Shelly, Dave Bolter and  
> Rich have started working on HTML to Platform Accessibility APIs  
> Implementation Guide
> <http://dev.w3.org/html5/html-api-map/overview.html>. It is currently
> intended as a informative reference produced by the W3C HTML WG.
...
> I would appreciate some feedback from involved in the accessibility
> implementation space in regards to the usefulness of documenting the  
> mapping between HTML elements and attributes and the roles states and
> properties in the various platform accessibility APIs. And what sort
> of information should be provided, if any.

This document strikes me as helpful, and far more pleasant to work with as  
an everyday reference than the larger specification documents. While I  
understand Ian's concern that any divergence might result in  
interoperability problems, the same holds true of the sheer volume of the  
HTML5 spec, its ability to suddenly morph so anyone not reading it daily  
misses a change, and various other features of standard development.

I expect to work primarily from this document in our implementation work  
on connecting to platfom accessibility APIs. I trust it will have the  
obvious statements of fact about what is the base reference and how to  
resolve apparent discord, but I don't expect that to be a real (as opposed  
to trivial or theoretical) problem beyond the usual difficulty of  
implementing a work in progress.

Please continue to work on this document.

Cheers

Chaals

-- 
Charles McCathieNevile  Opera Software, Standards Group
     je parle français -- hablo español -- jeg lærer norsk
http://my.opera.com/chaals       Try Opera: http://www.opera.com
Received on Monday, 17 January 2011 16:03:41 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 15:05:17 UTC