W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > January 2011

Request input on the potential usefulness of HTML to Platform Accessibility APIs Implementation Guide

From: Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
Date: Sat, 15 Jan 2011 15:41:58 +0000
Message-ID: <AANLkTiknzqLX_8jOdbsJ9MsXZDCfDUOAjLfdFGMnpoJN@mail.gmail.com>
To: David Bolter <dbolter@mozilla.com>, Cynthia Shelly <cyns@microsoft.com>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Marco Zehe <marco.zehe@googlemail.com>, James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>, Loretta Guarino Reid <Lorettaguarino@google.com>, HTML Accessibility Task Force <public-html-a11y@w3.org>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, "Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
Cc: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
A number of people including myself , Cynthia Shelly, Dave Bolter and Rich
have started working on HTML to Platform Accessibility APIs Implementation
Guide <http://dev.w3.org/html5/html-api-map/overview.html>. It is currently
intended as a informative reference produced by the W3C HTML WG.



The editor of the HTML5 specification has provided some feedback [1] on this
document.


I would appreciate some feedback from involved in the accessibility
implementation space in regards to the usefulness of documenting the mapping
between HTML elements and attributes and the roles states and properties in
the various platform accessibility APIs. And what sort of information should
be provided, if any.

If as the HTML5 editor states;

"the proposed document is unnecessary. Vendors have not shown an inability
to read the existing normative specifications"

then it would be good to know that is not needed and will not be useful to
its target audience, so those involved can use their time on more productive
pursuits.


[1]
http://wiki.whatwg.org/wiki/Objections_against_CP_for_ISSUE-129#The_HTML_to_Platform_Accessibility_APIs_Implementation_Guide

-- 
with regards

Steve Faulkner
Technical Director - TPG

www.paciellogroup.com | www.HTML5accessibility.com |
www.twitter.com/stevefaulkner
HTML5: Techniques for providing useful text alternatives -
dev.w3.org/html5/alt-techniques/
Web Accessibility Toolbar -
www.paciellogroup.com/resources/wat-ie-about.html
Received on Saturday, 15 January 2011 15:42:50 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 15:05:17 UTC