W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > April to June 2008

Re: i28 proposed replacement text

From: Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org>
Date: Tue, 3 Jun 2008 20:00:20 +0100
To: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Cc: Henrik Nordstrom <henrik@henriknordstrom.net>, Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>, Joe Orton <joe@manyfish.co.uk>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>, Brian Smith <brian@briansmith.org>, ietf-http-wg@w3.org
Message-ID: <20080603190020.GC6899@shareable.org>

Julian Reschke wrote:
> Jamie Lokier wrote:
> >>Well, what would they contain in case of a truncated response? Surely 
> >>not the length/digest of the actual response, because that wouldn't help 
> >>the client finding out about the truncation...
> >
> >Truncated responses don't have trailers.  Trailers are at the _end_!
> >...
> 
> Depends on the definition of "truncated".
> 
> A server may not be able to complete sending the requested entity (file 
> io error, for instance), but still be able to send trailers...

Ok, but then that's outside the bounds of HTTP message integrity.

If a server cannot complete a response for any internal reason, but
wants to send all the indications of a complete and finished responses
(whatever they are), there's any number of ways it can do that.

-- Jamie
Received on Tuesday, 3 June 2008 19:01:01 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 06:50:48 GMT