W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > April to June 2008

Re: i28 proposed replacement text

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Tue, 03 Jun 2008 21:13:25 +0200
Message-ID: <484597D5.2040608@gmx.de>
To: Henrik Nordstrom <henrik@henriknordstrom.net>
CC: Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org>, Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>, Joe Orton <joe@manyfish.co.uk>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>, Brian Smith <brian@briansmith.org>, ietf-http-wg@w3.org

Henrik Nordstrom wrote:
> On tis, 2008-06-03 at 19:23 +0200, Julian Reschke wrote:
>> Well, unless I'm missing something, it will be hard to send from a 
>> servlet (hey, Servlet EG, are you listening...?).
> 
> Content-MD5 either needs the server to buffer the response, or sent in
> the trailer. Same for Content-Length except that it can't be sent in a
> trailer.
> 
> Claiming that those isn't usable for a servlet is plain wrong. It's all
> an implementation detail, and how feasible it is depends primarily on
> the size of the response.

Of course the servlet container could supply those. What I was thinking 
of was a way for a servlet *instance* to return them.

> ...

BR, Julian
Received on Tuesday, 3 June 2008 19:14:08 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 06:50:48 GMT