W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > April to June 2008

Re: i28 proposed replacement text

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Tue, 03 Jun 2008 19:40:16 +0200
Message-ID: <48458200.5010607@gmx.de>
To: Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org>
CC: Henrik Nordstrom <henrik@henriknordstrom.net>, Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>, Joe Orton <joe@manyfish.co.uk>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>, Brian Smith <brian@briansmith.org>, ietf-http-wg@w3.org

Jamie Lokier wrote:
>> Well, what would they contain in case of a truncated response? Surely 
>> not the length/digest of the actual response, because that wouldn't help 
>> the client finding out about the truncation...
> 
> Truncated responses don't have trailers.  Trailers are at the _end_!
> ...

Depends on the definition of "truncated".

A server may not be able to complete sending the requested entity (file 
io error, for instance), but still be able to send trailers...

> ...

BR, Julian
Received on Tuesday, 3 June 2008 17:41:00 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 06:50:48 GMT