RE: Drafting mux WG charter

From: Yaron Goland (yarong@microsoft.com)
Date: Mon, Feb 15 1999


Message-ID: <3FF8121C9B6DD111812100805F31FC0D08792F11@RED-MSG-59>
From: Yaron Goland <yarong@microsoft.com>
To: "'spreitze@parc.xerox.com'" <spreitze@parc.xerox.com>, Joe Touch <touch@isi.edu>, Ted Hardie <hardie@equinix.com>, Mark Day <mark_day@lotus.com>, Rohit Khare <rohit@uci.edu>
Cc: ietf-http-ng@w3.org, Josh Cohen <joshco@microsoft.com>, Lance Olson <lanceo@microsoft.com>
Date: Mon, 15 Feb 1999 15:30:07 -0800
Subject: RE: Drafting mux WG charter

My personal interest in MUXing is to re-use a single TCP connection to some
MUX port as a mechanism to simulate arbitrary TCP connections to arbitrary
ports. Put another way (brazenly stolen from Josh Cohen) I should be able to
replace my TCP/IP stack with a MUX enabled stack and none of my applications
should notice any difference. 

In the best of all worlds I would like this issue to be declared explicitly
in-scope even if the core MUX protocol doesn't support it. For example, I
could imagine an extension spec built on top of MUX which would extend the
MUX open command to support specifying a TCP port that the particular mux
channel that was opened should be treated as speaking over.

I believe I understand where you are going with the security language and I
even think I agree. But the current text definitely needs some help. However
enough people are already beating on you about that one that I'm sure you
have gotten the point. =)

> -----Original Message-----
> From: spreitze@parc.xerox.com [mailto:spreitze@parc.xerox.com]
> Sent: Monday, February 15, 1999 11:38 AM
> To: Joe Touch; Ted Hardie; Yaron Goland; Mark Day; Rohit Khare
> Cc: ietf-http-ng@w3.org
> Subject: Drafting mux WG charter
> 
> 
> 
> I'm working on drafting a charter to work on a multiplexing 
> protocol; such a thing was discussed at the HTTP-NG BOF at 
> IETF-43, at which you spoke up.  If you
> have any interest, I'd appreciate your comments.  Go to
> <http://www.w3.org/Protocols/HTTP-NG> for pointers to the charter and
> instructions for the mailing list where we're discussing it
> (ietf-http-ng@w3.org).  Some discussion has also spilled over to
> discuss@apps.ietf.org, but please let's henceforth keep it on one list
> only.
> 
> Thanks,
> Mike
>