W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > January to March 2002

RE: COPY, MOVE and VCR's

From: <gclemm@rational.com>
Date: Thu, 24 Jan 2002 12:34:35 -0500
Message-ID: <3906C56A7BD1F54593344C05BD1374B103F8AF00@SUS-MA1IT01>
To: ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Just to make sure there is no confusion on this point,
the behavior of COPY is independent of whether or not
the destination is in a workspace.  In either case, a new
resource is created at the destination, which has no
relationship to the source resource, other than having the
same content and dead properties.

The behavior of MOVE is also independent of whether or not
the destination is a workspace, except that a MOVE from one
workspace to another will fail if there already is a VCR
for that version history in the target workspace.

Note: This means that Daniels first assumption was incorrect,
but instead the defined behavior is closer to the behavior
that he wished was the case.

Cheers,
Geoff


-----Original Message-----
From: Kirmse, Daniel [mailto:daniel.kirmse@sap.com]
Sent: Thursday, January 24, 2002 9:20 AM
To: Ietf-Dav-Versioning (E-mail)
Subject: RE: COPY, MOVE and VCR's


So my first assumption was right - except for workspaces
Thanks for clarification
Daniel

-----Original Message-----
From: Peter Raymond [mailto:Peter.Raymond@merant.com]
Sent: Donnerstag, 24. Januar 2002 15:12
To: Kirmse, Daniel; Ietf-Dav-Versioning (E-mail)
Subject: RE: COPY, MOVE and VCR's


Hi, 
[Daniel said:] 
>For COPY I'd expect to got a new VCR at the destination with an exact copy 
>of properties. This implies that the new created VCR must share the 
>version-history with the source VCR. Is this correct? Is this desirable? 
I think this is desirable and correct but with one caveat... 
Both in section 1.3 (where the workspace term is defined) and in section 6 
the DeltaV specification says that you can only have one VCR for a given 
version history in a workspace.  If copy created a new VCR but pointed to 
the original VHR then this rule could be violated if the destination is in 
the same workspace as the source of the copy. 
If the copy does not break this rule then it would be fine to have two VCRs 
pointing to the same version history. 
I certainly wouldn't have thought that moving a VCR would create a new 
history resource. 
  
Regards, 
-- 
Peter Raymond - MERANT 
Principal Architect (PVCS) 
Tel: +44 (0)1727 813362 
Fax: +44 (0)1727 869804 
mailto:Peter.Raymond@merant.com 
WWW: http://www.merant.com 



-----Original Message----- 
From: Kirmse, Daniel [mailto:daniel.kirmse@sap.com] 
Sent: 24 January 2002 13:56 
To: Ietf-Dav-Versioning (E-mail) 
Subject: COPY, MOVE and VCR's 


Hi, 
I wonder what happens when I copy or move a VCR? 
Defining this behavior as not expected by the user, I'd say COPY means 
creation of a new version-history and copy of the checked-in version to that

new VH. With that the checked-in property of the copied VCR must change. 
Same for MOVE except for the deletion of the source. 
Regards, 
Daniel 
Received on Thursday, 24 January 2002 12:35:46 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:43 GMT