W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > October to December 2000

Re: Deletion semantics for versioning metadata

From: Greg Stein <gstein@lyra.org>
Date: Mon, 20 Nov 2000 18:45:57 -0800
To: ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Message-ID: <20001120184557.X21426@lyra.org>
On Sun, Nov 19, 2000 at 01:08:03PM -0500, Geoffrey M. Clemm wrote:
> 
> Greg has asked that we clarify the results of deleting things
> like working resources, versions, version histories, etc.
> 
> I believe it is sufficient for us to say that if a server allows you
> to delete such a resource, that all the versioning properties of other
> resources that refer to that resource should be updated to no longer
> refer to the deleted resource (I'd probably enumerate those properties
> to make sure there is no misunderstanding).

It seems a bit more complicated than that. If you delete a version history,
then I'd expect the corresponding selectors and versions to become
non-controlled resources.

But even then, it seems that you could lose all the information on how to
track down the available versions for a given resource.

(of course, I'd expect most servers to just refuse deletion of versions and
 version histories, but the spec may not be able to make that assumption;
 hmm. I guess it could say "server defined")

Mostly, I'm concerned with what deletion of a working resource and an
activity means. For the former, I'd expect something like an UNCHECKOUT. For
an activity, I'd expect a full rollback of all associated checked-out
resources. Specifically, let's say that I have an activity with 10 working
resources associated with it; I'd like to do one of two things to that
activity: CHECKIN or DELETE, corresponding to "commit" or "rollback". After
either of those operations, the activity and all working resources are gone.

Cheers,
-g

-- 
Greg Stein, http://www.lyra.org/
Received on Monday, 20 November 2000 21:45:13 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:39 GMT