CFP - Workshop on Service Oriented Technology at ICEC06

Call for Papers
Workshop on Service Oriented Techniques (SOT06)
At the Eighth International Conference of E-Commerce (ICEC06)

Fredericton, New Brunswick, August 13, 2006

Organizers: Dr. Yuhong Yan (Canada National Research Council)
Dr. Liang-Jie Zhang (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA)

Service oriented techniques are used for building software applications that use services available in a network such as the Web. The driving forces come from both the software engineering community and the e-business community. Service-Oriented Architecture (SOA) promotes loose coupling between software components so that interoperability across programming languages and 
platforms can be achieved. Extending the classic middleware functions, SOA techniques incorporate the demands of e-business by adding process modelling and management functions. The description of services covers not only software interfaces but also semantic business information. Services can be dynamically discovered and composite services can be built from aggregates of other services.

The aim of the SOT workshop is to present recent research findings on service oriented techniques. We welcome papers from both academia and industry. We especially invite submissions based on theoretical foundations or innovative industrial projects. Possible topics include, but are not limited to the following:

* Formal methods for service modelling and computing
* Dynamic selection and composition of services/applications
* Dynamic coordination of services/applications
* Managing and monitoring services/applications
* QoS-enabled services/applications 
* Data integration of distributed services
* Selection and interaction among services 
* Context-aware services/applications 
* Performance evaluation of middleware for service-oriented computing
* Semantic Issues in service integration
* Combinations of Semantic Web technology with Web Services 
* Innovative applications

Submission Guidelines
Papers must be submitted in either Word or PDF, according to the ACM Proceedings Format Maximum length is 8 pages. Submissions by email to Papers will be reviewed by qualified reviewers from the program committee as below. The proceedings will be published by the Press of Canadian National Research Council. The selected paper will be published by the Journal of Business Process Integration and Management and/or the Journal of Computational Intelligence. 

Important Dates

Electronic paper Submission deadline: June 1, 2006
Notification of Acceptance: June 14, 2006
Camera-ready paper due: June 28, 2006
Workshop: August 13, 2006
Main Conference: August 14-16, 2006

Delta Hotel, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada

Workshop website:

Dr. Yuhong Yan (National Research Council, Canada)
Dr. Liang-Jie Zhang (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA)

Program Committee

Lilina Ardissono (University of Torino, Italy)
Virendra Bhavsar (University of New Brunswick, Canada)
Hong Cai (IBM Research, China)
Luba Cherbakov (IBM Global Service, USA)
William Cheung (Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong, China)
Weichang Du (University of New Brunswick, Canada)
Ephraim Feig (Kintera Inc., USA)
Chiara Francalanci (Politechnique of Miliano, Italy)
Ali Ghorbani (University of New Brunswick, Canada)
Anna Goy (University of Torino, Italy)
Patrick Hung (University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Canada)
Mihhail Matskin (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
Yannick Pencole (LAAS-CNRS, France)
Claudia Picardi (University of Torino, Italy)
Jinghai Rao (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Weiming Shen (NRC-IMTI, Canada)
Michael Sintek (DFKI, Germany)
Andy Ju An Wang (Southern Polytechnic State University, USA)
Jia Zhang (Northern Illinois University, USA)
Leon Zhao (University Of Arizona, USA)

Dr. Yuhong Yan
Research Officer, Canada National Research Council
Adjunct Professor in CS, University of New Brunswick
46 Dineen Drive, Fredericton, NB, E3B 9W4, Canada
Tel:+1-(506) 4440388  Fax: +1-(506) 4446114
Personal Website:

Received on Monday, 8 May 2006 21:20:24 UTC