[Apologies if you receive this more than once]
 Final Call for Papers
 ICDM '05: The 5th IEEE International Conference on Data Mining
 Sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society
 New Orleans, Louisiana, USA 
 27-30 November 2005
 (Papers Due: 15 June 2005)
 The 2005 IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (IEEE ICDM '05)
 provides a premier forum for the dissemination of innovative,
 practical development experiences as well as original research results
 in data mining, spanning applications, algorithms, software and
 systems. The conference draws researchers and application developers
 from a wide range of data mining related areas such as statistics,
 machine learning, pattern recognition, databases and data warehousing,
 data visualization, knowledge-based systems and high performance
 computing. By promoting high quality and novel research findings, and
 innovative solutions to challenging data mining problems, the
 conference seeks to continuously advance the state of the art in data
 mining. As an important part of the conference, the workshops program
 will focus on new research challenges and initiatives, and the
 tutorials program will cover emerging data mining technologies and the
 latest developments in data mining.
 Topics of Interest
 Topics related to the design, analysis and implementation of data
 mining theory, systems and applications are of interest. These
 include, but are not limited to the following areas:
    * Foundations of data mining
    * Data mining and machine learning algorithms and methods in traditional
      areas (such as classification, regression, clustering, probabilistic
      modeling, and association analysis), and in new areas
    * Mining text and semi-structured data, and mining temporal, spatial and
      multimedia data
    * Mining data streams
    * Pattern recognition and trend analysis
    * Collaborative filtering/personalization
    * Data and knowledge representation for data mining
    * Query languages and user interfaces for mining
    * Complexity, efficiency, and scalability issues in data mining
    * Data pre-processing, data reduction, feature selection and feature
    * Post-processing of data mining results
    * Statistics and probability in large-scale data mining
    * Soft computing (including neural networks, fuzzy logic, evolutionary
      computation, and rough sets) and uncertainty management for data mining
    * Integration of data warehousing, OLAP and data mining
    * Human-machine interaction and visual data mining
    * High performance and parallel/distributed data mining
    * Quality assessment and interestingness metrics of data mining results
    * Security, privacy and social impact of data mining
    * Data mining applications in bioinformatics, electronic commerce, Web,
      intrusion detection, finance, marketing, healthcare, telecommunications
      and other fields
 Conference Publications and ICDM Best Paper Awards
 High quality papers in all data mining areas are solicited. Original
 papers exploring new directions will receive especially careful and
 supportive reviews. Papers that have already been accepted or are
 currently under review at other conferences or journals will not be
 considered for publication at ICDM '05.
 Paper submissions should be limited to a maximum of 8 pages in the
 IEEE 2-column format (see the IEEE Computer Society Press Proceedings
 Author Guidelines at,
 and will be reviewed by the Program Committee on the basis of
 technical quality, relevance to data mining, originality,
 significance, and clarity. Please use the Submission Form on the ICDM
 '05 website to submit your paper.  Accepted papers will be published
 in the conference proceedings by the IEEE Computer Society Press.
 A selected number of IEEE ICDM '05 accepted papers will be invited for
 possible inclusion, in an expanded and revised form, in the Knowledge
 and Information Systems journal (
 published by Springer-Verlag.
 IEEE ICDM Best Paper Awards will be conferred at the conference on the
 authors of (1) the best research paper and (2) the best application
 paper.  Application-oriented submissions will be considered for the
 best application paper award.
 Important Dates
        June 15, 2005  Paper submissions
                       Tutorial proposals
                       Workshop proposals
                       Panel proposals
      August 20, 2005  Paper acceptance notices
    September 7, 2005  Final camera-readies
    November 27, 2005  Tutorials and Workshops
 November 28-30, 2005  Conference
 All paper submissions will be handled electronically. Detailed
 instructions are provided on the conference home page at
 Conference Co-Chairs:
    *  Vijay Raghavan, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    *  Rajeev Rastogi, Bell Laboratories, Lucent, USA
 Program Committee Chairs:
    * Jaiwei Han, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
    * Benjamin Wah, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
 Program Committee Vice-Chairs:
    * Daniel Barbara, George Mason University, USA
    * Tamraparni Dasu, AT&T Research, USA  
    * Inderjit Dhillon, University of Texas, USA
    * Venkatesh Ganti, Microsoft Research, USA 
    * Bart Goethals, University of Antwerp, Belgium
    * Dimitris Gunopulos, University of California, Riverside, USA
    * George Karypis, University of Minnesota, USA 
    * Hillol Kargupta, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA
    * S. Muthu Muthukrishnan, Rutgers University, USA 
    * Dino Pedreschi, University of Pisa, Italy 
    * Jian Pei, Simon Fraser University, Canada 
    * Raghu Ramakrishnan, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
    * Sunita Sarawagi, IIT-Bombay, India 
    * Arno Siebes, Utrecht University, Netherlands 
    * Jeffrey X. Yu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
 Panels Chair/Co-Chair
    * Lee Giles, Pennsylvania State University, USA
    * Gary Flake, Yahoo Research Labs, USA
 Publicity Chairs
    * Ning Zhong, Maebashi Institute of Technology, Japan
    * Zonghuan Wu, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Proceedings Chair
    * Xindong Wu, University of Vermont, USA
 Registrations Chair/Co-chair
    * Elizabeth Diaz, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    * Ying Xie, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Workshops Chair
    * Pawan Lingras, Saint Mary's University, Canada
 Tutorials Chair
    * Haesun Park, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, USA
 Budget Manager
    * Biren Shah, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Local Arrangements Chair/Co-chairs
    * Elizabeth Diaz, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    * Anna Robin, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
    * Anca Doloc-Mihu, University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 ICDM Steering Committee
    * Max Bramer, University of Portsmouth (UK)
    * Nick Cercone, Dalhousie University (Canada)
    * Ramamohanarao Kotagiri, University of Melbourne (Australia)
    * Vipin Kumar, University of Minnesota (USA)
    * Katharina Morik, University of Dortmund (Germany)
    * Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, KDnuggets (USA)
    * Benjamin W. Wah, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (USA)
    * Xindong Wu (Chair), University of Vermont (USA)
    * Philip S. Yu, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (USA)
    * Ning Zhong, Maebashi Institute of Technology (Japan)
 Further Information
 Vijay Raghavan
 University of Louisiana, Lafayette, USA
 Phone: 337-482-6603
 Fax: 337-482-5791

Received on Thursday, 2 June 2005 12:20:12 UTC