W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > July to September 2015

Re: ARIA and mainstream UI (was RE: ARIA 1.1: Deprecate @aria-grabbed and @aria-dropeffect)

From: James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
Date: Mon, 21 Sep 2015 17:23:58 -0700
Cc: Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Bryan Garaventa <bryan.garaventa@ssbbartgroup.com>, Chaals McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>, Joanmarie Diggs <jdiggs@igalia.com>, John Foliot <john.foliot@deque.com>, "lwatson@paciellogroup.com" <lwatson@paciellogroup.com>, WAI Protocols & Formats <public-pfwg@w3.org>, Sailesh Panchang <sailesh.panchang@deque.com>, "w3c-wai-ig@w3.org" <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>
Message-Id: <E927B5FA-2618-407A-915E-9C6EE33A8E9F@apple.com>
To: Mike Elledge <melledge@yahoo.com>

> On Sep 21, 2015, at 11:03 AM, Mike Elledge <melledge@yahoo.com> wrote:
> 
> James, is your concern that browser interpretation and execution of ARIA will lead to a confusing proliferation of results for AT users?

And also that complicated and conflicting specs will confuse web authors. It's already difficult to make certain types of web UI accessible. I'd rather keep the APIs as simple as possible. 

James
Received on Tuesday, 22 September 2015 00:24:55 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 13 October 2015 16:21:58 UTC