W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > December 2017

RE: Functions in N3 (was: Re: What Happened to the Semantic Web?)

From: <Simon.Cox@csiro.au>
Date: Sun, 3 Dec 2017 05:00:30 +0000
To: <martynas@atomgraph.com>, <greg@evilfunhouse.com>
CC: <andreas@harth.org>, <sean@miscoranda.com>, <semantic-web@w3.org>, <public-lod@w3.org>, <www-archive@w3.org>, <ivan@w3.org>
Message-ID: <b1a230cb0ae743e89b05171223dda1e1@exch1-mel.nexus.csiro.au>
Have a talk to your w3c staff contact. It is usually possible to fix obvious things like this. Particularly if the namespace was already allocated, so the URI set is already implied.

________________________________
From: Martynas Jusevičius <martynas@atomgraph.com>
Sent: Saturday, 2 December 2017 12:05:24 AM
To: Gregory Williams
Cc: Andreas Harth; Sean B. Palmer; SW-forum Web; public-lod; www-archive; Ivan Herman
Subject: Re: Functions in N3 (was: Re: What Happened to the Semantic Web?)

Gregory,

are you still planning to upload the vocabularies?

I have a use case for it :) To specify the function to apply in a FILTER. I'd much rather use a function URI than a label literal.


Martynas

On Fri, Oct 13, 2017 at 5:30 PM, Gregory Williams <greg@evilfunhouse.com<mailto:greg@evilfunhouse.com>> wrote:
/cc Ivan Herman

On Oct 13, 2017, at 8:14 AM, Andreas Harth <andreas@harth.org<mailto:andreas@harth.org>> wrote:
>
> The lack of URIs for SPARQL functions has irked me for a while.
>
> We have been using N3 as rule syntax in our Linked Data-Fu system,
> and have found that the CWM builtins [1] are problematic.  Some really
> useful functions are missing (such as isLiteral(), isURI, datatype()),
> and some of the existing functions are underspecified concerning the
> support for datatypes.
>
> SPARQL has a much more complete set of functions and it would be nice to
> be able to use those in N3.  Defining a prefix for the SPARQL builtin
> functions (and operators) should be easy.  I wonder why nobody has done
> that already.

During the SPARQL 1.1 WG, it was always my intention to define IRIs for all the built-in functions. We even set up a namespace for it[1]. Alas, it seems it was never properly populated, as BOUND is the only function with an assigned IRI. Maybe it would still be possible to get those all assigned-I still have local working copies of what I think should be in /ns/sparql.

Thanks,
Greg

[1] https://www.w3.org/ns/sparql
Received on Sunday, 3 December 2017 05:01:11 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:50:51 UTC