W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > May 2016

RR 2016 Second Call for Papers

From: Magdalena Ortiz <ortiz@kr.tuwien.ac.at>
Date: Thu, 12 May 2016 15:29:50 +0200
Message-ID: <5734854E.1030604@kr.tuwien.ac.at>
To: semantic-web@w3.org


10th International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems

Aberdeen, Scotland, UK, September 9-11, 2016



The International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR) is a 
major forum for discussion and dissemination of new results concerning 
rule-based systems, and their applications in reasoning about web data.

The 10th edition, RR 2016, will take place in Aberdeen, Scotland, UK, on 
September 9th-11th 2016, and will be co-located with the 12th Reasoning 
Web Summer School (RW2016).  Please see 
http://www.abdn.ac.uk/events/rr-2016/ for more information.

== TOPICS ==

RR welcomes original research from all areas of Web Reasoning and Rule 

Topics of particular interest include:

* Rule-based languages for intelligent information access and for the 
semantic web
* Ontology-based data access
* Data management, and data interoperability for web data
* Distributed agent-based systems for the web
* Scalability and expressive power of logics for the semantic web
* Reasoning with incomplete, inconsistent and uncertain data
* Non-monotonic, common-sense, and closed-world reasoning for web data
* Constraint programming, inductive logic programming for web data
* Streaming data and complex event processing
* Rule-based approaches to machine learning, knowledge extraction and 
information retrieval
* Rule-based approaches to natural language processing
* System descriptions, applications and experiences


We accept the following submission formats for papers:

* Full papers (up to 15 pages in LNCS style)
* Technical Communications (up to 6 pages in LNCS style)

Submitted full papers should present original and significant research 
results. They must not substantially overlap with papers that have been 
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a 
conference/workshop with formal proceedings. Double submission to a 
workshop with informal proceedings is allowed.

Technical communications are intended for promising but possibly 
preliminary work, position papers, system descriptions, and applications 
descriptions (which may be accompanied by a demo).

Submissions: via EasyChair (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=rr2016)


The conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture 
Notes in Computer Science series (LNCS). All submissions must be 
prepared in Springer's LaTeX style llncs 


Title and Abstract submission: May 23, 2016 (extended)
Full papers submission: May 27, 2016 (extended)
Notification of acceptance: June 22, 2016
Camera-ready submission: July 3, 2016
Conference: September 9-11, 2016

For each of these deadlines, a cut-off point of 23:59 AOE (anywhere on 
earth) applies.


Awards for Best Paper and Best Student Paper will be presented to the 
corresponding author(s) at the conference. To qualify for the Best 
Student Paper award, the main authors must not hold a PhD at the paper 
submission deadline, and indicate their eligibility upon submission. The 
program committee reserves the right to not give out the awards, or to 
split the awards among multiple submissions.


RR will be offering scholarships to participants to partially cover 
registration and/or accommodation fees. An additional number of grants 
is reserved to US Students to attend RR2016 and the co-located RW2016 
summer school.  Details can be found on the conference website.


Continuing its successful tradition, RR 2016 will host a Doctoral 
Consortium (DC).
The RR 2016 DC will provide doctoral students in Web Reasoning and 
related areas with a unique opportunity to present and discuss their 
research directions, be involved into state-of-the-art research 
discussion, and supported in establishing fruitful research collaborations.
The DC is composed by two main events:
- a mentoring lunch, where students will have the opportunity to get in 
touch with prominent researchers and pioneers in the field of Web 
Reasoning and Rules, and of related areas; and
- a poster session where students will have the possibility to present 
their work, share their ideas, and receive constructive feedback on 
their research activity.
Please see the website for detailed information on how to participate in 
the DC.


The Reasoning Web (RW) summer school  series (RW2016) series focuses on 
the advanced capabilities required by Semantic Web and Linked Data 
application scenarios calling for Reasoning. This perspective, centered 
on the reasoning techniques complementing other research efforts in 
these areas, will give insight into the Semantic Web, Linked Data, 
Ontologies, Rules, and Logic.
The 12th edition of the School will take be colocated with RR 2016, 5-11 
September 2016.


Abraham Bernstein, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Meghyn Bienvenu, CNRS & University of Montpellier, France
Ian Horrocks, University of Oxford, UK
Leonid Libkin, University of Edinburgh, UK


General Chair:
    Umberto Straccia (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
Program Chairs:
    Magdalena Ortiz (TU Wien, Austria)
    Stefan Schlobach (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Local Chair:
    Jeff Pan (The University of Aberdeen, UK)
Doctoral Consortium Chair:
     Rafael Peñaloza (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
Publicity Chair:
     Adila  Krisnadhi (Wright State University, USA & Universitas 
Indonesia, Indonesia)
Sponsorship Chair
     Giorgos Stamou (NTUA, Greece)


Darko Anicic (Siemens AG, Germany)
Meghyn Bienvenu (CNRS, University of Montpellier, INRIA, France)
Fernando Bobillo (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
Elena Botoeva (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
Pierre Bourhis (CNRS LIFL/INRIA Lille, France)
Loris Bozzato (Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy)
Minh Dao-Tran (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Sergio Flesca (DEIS - University of Calabria, Italy)
Paul Fodor (Stony Brook University, USA)
Andre Freitas (University of Passau, Germany)
Víctor Gutiérrez Basulto (University of Bremen, Germany)
André Hernich (University of Liverpool, UK)
Aidan Hogan (DCC, Universidad de Chile, Chile)
Yazmin Ibanez (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Mark Kaminski (University of Oxford, UK)
Benny Kimelfeld (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)
Roman Kontchakov (Birkbeck, University of London, UK)
Markus Krötzsch (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
Georg Lausen (University of Freiburg, Germany)
Joohyung Lee (Arizona State University, USA)
Domenico Lembo (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy)
Thomas Meyer (Centre for Artificial Intelligence Research, UKZN and CSIR 
Meraka, South Africa)
Marie-Laure Mugnier (University of Montpellier (LIRMM / INRIA), France)
Matthias Nickles (National University of Ireland, Galway, DERI, Ireland)
Andreas Pieris (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Axel Polleres (Vienna University of Economics and Business - WU Wien, 
Juan L. Reutter (Pontificia Universidad Católica, Chile)
Francesco Ricca (University of Calabria, Italy)
Sebastian Rudolph (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
Vladislav Ryzhikov (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
Juan F. Sequeda (Capsenta Labs, USA)
Evgeny Sherkhonov (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Mantas Simkus (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Daria Stepanova (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Saarbrücken, 
Germany )
Domagoj Vrgoc (PUC, Chile)
Guohui Xiao (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
Received on Thursday, 12 May 2016 13:30:24 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Tuesday, 5 July 2022 08:45:45 UTC