W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > May 2013

EC-TEL 2013: Last Call for Doctoral Consortium Submissions

From: George Angelos Papadopoulos <george@cs.ucy.ac.cy>
Date: Thu, 16 May 2013 12:23:05 +0300
Message-Id: <A52C63C7-CBC4-4EC0-9C08-83BE3FA78D3A@cs.ucy.ac.cy>
To: "SIGSAND-L@CLIFFY.UCS.MUN.CA" <SIGSAND-L@CLIFFY.UCS.MUN.CA>, "confs-submit@hri.org" <confs-submit@hri.org>, "irlist@lists.shef.ac.uk" <irlist@lists.shef.ac.uk>, "hellas@lists.psu.edu" <hellas@lists.psu.edu>, "CHI-ANNOUNCEMENTS@LISTSERV.ACM.ORG" <CHI-ANNOUNCEMENTS@LISTSERV.ACM.ORG>, "aisworld@lists.aisnet.org" <aisworld@lists.aisnet.org>, "semantic-web@w3.org" <semantic-web@w3.org>
*** Last Call for Doctoral Consortium Submissions ***

EC-TEL 2013: Eighth European Conference on Technology Enhanced Learning

"Scaling Up Learning for Sustained Impact"

17-21 September 2013, Paphos, Cyprus


The EC-TEL Doctoral Consortium brings together Ph.D. students working on topics
related to Technology Enhanced Learning. The doctoral consortium will offer
Ph.D. students the opportunity to present, discuss, and receive feedback on
their research in an interdisciplinary and international atmosphere. Prominent
professors and researchers in the field of Technology Enhanced Learning will
provide feedback to the selected papers and participate actively and contribute
to the discussions. The Doctoral Consortium will take place immediately before
the EC-TEL 2013 conference.

The intention of this doctoral consortium is to support and inspire Ph.D.
students during their ongoing research efforts. Therefore, it is necessary that
authors will have neither achieved their Ph.D. degree nor officially submitted
their thesis before the doctoral consortium (September 2013). To enforce this
rule we require authors to disclose their expected graduation date and their
advisor's name when submitting.


In contrast to regular conference papers, submissions should address
specifically doctoral work. Therefore, the following elements have to be
addressed in the papers:

* A clear formulation of the research question.
* An identification of the significant problems in the field of research.
* An outline of the current knowledge of the problem domain, as well as
  the state of existing solutions.
* A presentation of any preliminary ideas, the proposed approach and the
  results achieved so far.
* A sketch of the applied research methodology.
* A description of the Ph.D. project's contribution to the problem solution.
* A discussion of how the suggested solution is different, new, or better
  as compared to existing approaches to the problem.

Accepted students should prepare:

1. An introduction of themselves and their Ph.D. project for the introductory
   session. Duration: 60 sec max.
2. A 15-20 minute presentation of their Ph.D. project to be used for introducing
   discussion about their project and its main issues during the small group sessions.
3. Students are also invited to prepare a poster about their Ph.D. for the EC-TEL 2013
   poster session.

Submissions should be uploaded to: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=dcectel13

The maximum length of DC submissions should not exceed 6 pages.

All submissions will be reviewed after acceptance by at least two senior researchers
and one of the accepted doctoral candidates. Additionally, two discussants, members
of the doctoral consortium committee, will be appointed to each paper. Discussant
comments will be followed by a plenary discussion of the paper. At the end of the
consortium there will be a general discussion, including a brainstorming session
about current and future research topics in the area.


Doctoral Consortium application submission:   May 31, 2013
Doctoral Consortium application notification: June 27, 2013
Doctoral Consortium reviews:	              July 31, 2013
Doctoral Consortium camera-ready versions:    September 4, 2013
Doctoral Consortium:                          September 17, 2013


General Chair: 
 Ralf Klamma, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Program Chairs:
 Davinia Hernández-Leo, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain
 Tobias Ley, Tallinn University, Estonia

Industry Chair: 
 Lucia Pannese, Imaginary, Italy

Workshop Chair:
 Anoush Margaryan, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK

Poster and Demonstration Chair:
 Andreas Harrer, Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Germay

Doctoral Consortium Chairs:
 Katherine Maillet, Télécom SudParis, France
 Tomazˇ Klobucˇar, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia

Dissemination Chair:
 Michael Derntl, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Local Organization Chair:
 George Angelos Papadopoulos, University of Cyprus

Find all details at http://ec-tel.eu/

Follow us on twitter: https://twitter.com/ectel2013
Received on Thursday, 16 May 2013 09:23:53 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Tuesday, 5 July 2022 08:45:33 UTC