Extended Deadline: CfP Web Semantics (WebS) 2010

     Extended Deadline

                                  March 19, 2010

                                   Call for Papers
                                      WebS 2010

              9th International Workshop on Web Semantics (WebS 2010),

    in conjunction with DEXA 2010, 21st 
International Conference on Database and
                            Expert Systems Applications

                       30 August - 03 September 2010, Bilbao, Spain

Dear Colleagues,

you are invited to submit your papers to the 9th 
International Workshop on Web Semantics (part of 
the 21st International Workshop
on Database and Expert Systems Applications 
DEXA), to be held on 30 August - 03 September 2010 in Bilbao, Spain.

The objective of the workshop Web Semantics 
(WebS) is to bring together researchers, 
developers and practitioners to discuss
research issues and experience in developing and 
deploying Semantic Web concepts, applications, and solutions being an
international forum for the presentation of both 
theoretical and applicative results. Papers describing Semantic Web application
experiences are particularly encouraged.

The relevant topics include the following (but are not limited to):

     * Knowledge management and sharing
     * Interoperability and data integration through semantic technology
     * Ontology modeling, reuse, extraction, and evolution
     * Ontology mapping, merging, and alignment
     * Ontology learning and metadata generation
     * Ontology evaluation (guidelines)

     * Document analysis and semantic extraction
     * Semantic Web content creation, annotation, and extraction

     * Modeling of Semantic Web
     * Search, integration, and analysis on the Semantic Web
     * Semantic and context awareness
     * Semantic Web supporting business processes
     * Semantic Web for e-sciences
     * Semantic Web for e-business
     * Semantic Web mining
     * Semantic Web data querying and reasoning
     * Semantic Web inferences schemes

     * Semantic Web applications
        - Database technologies for the Semantic Web
        - Intelligent user interfaces
        - Dynamic ontology generation and adaptation
        - Languages, tools and methodologies for 
semantic annotations of web data
        - Applications on mobile devices
        - Enhanced accessibility and multimodal interfaces
        - Reasoning

Authors are invited to submit original, 
unpublished research and application papers that 
are not being considered in another forum.
Manuscripts will be limited to 5 two-column pages 
(IEEE Proceeding style) including figures and 
references. Please follow the IEEE
Computer Society Press Proceedings Author 
Guidelines to prepare your papers. Authors of 
accepted papers are requested to sign the
IEEE copyright form. The author guidelines can be 
found at IEEE Conference Publishing Services - Proceedings Author Forms.
Electronic submission of manuscripts (in PDF, 
postscript, or word format) is required and will 
be handled via the workshop Web site
http://www.faw.jku.at/wwoess/webs/webs.html. For 
any questions please contact webs@faw.uni-linz.ac.at.

At least one author of each accepted paper is 
required to attend the conference and present the paper. Papers accepted for
presentation will be published by IEEE Computer 
Society Press as proceedings of the DEXA 2010 workshops.
Authors are requested to send their paper(s) to be received by March 05, 2010.

All submissions will be evaluated for 
originality, significance, clarity, and technical 
soundness. Each paper will be refereed by
at least three researchers in the topical area.

Paper submission: March 19, 2010 (Extended Deadline)
Notification of acceptance: May 07, 2010
Webs 2010 Workshop: 30 August - 03 September, 2010

Christina Feilmayr (FAW, Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria)
Wolfram Wöß (FAW, Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria)

Witold Abramowicz, Poznan University of Economics, Poland
José Francisco Aldana Montes, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Kerstin Altmanninger, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
Sören Auer, University of Leipzig, Germany
Elena Baralis, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Jorge Bernardino, ISEC, Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra, Portugal
Walter Binder, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Brian Blake, Georgetown University, Washington, DC, USA
Alessio Bosca, CELI s.r.l, Turino, Italy
Daniele Braga, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Paul Buhler, Modus21, LLC, Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Barbara Catania, DISI, University of Genoa, Italy
Sunil Choenni, Rotterdam University, The Netherlands
Brian Davis, Digital Enterprise Research 
Institute (DERI), National University of Galway, Ireland
Valeria De Antonellis, Dipartimento di 
Elettronica per l'Automazione, Brescia, Italy
Cláudio De Souza Baptista, DSC, Universidade Federal de Campina Grande, Brazil
John Debenham, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
Steven A. Demurjian, University of Connecticut, USA
Ying Ding, Indiana University, USA
Nickolas J. G. Falkner, School of Computer 
Science, University of Adelaide, Australia
Christina Feilmayr, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
Ling Feng, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Alfio Ferrara, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria, Italy
Fabien Gandon, INRIA, Sophia Antipolis, France
Stephan Grimm, FZI Research Center for 
Information Technology, University of Karlsruhe, Germany
Abdelkader Hameurlain, Université Paul Sabatier, France
Carmem Satie Hara, Universidade Federal do Parana, Brazil
Bernhard Haslhofer, University of Vienna, Austria
Eva Maria Hauth, voestalpine IT GmbH, Linz, Austria
Stijn Heymans, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Hiroyuki Kawano, Kyoto University, Japan
Ralf Klischewski, Faculty of Management 
Technology, German University in Cairo, Egypt
In-Young Ko, Information and Communications University, Korea
Michele Missikoff, Institute of Systems Analysis 
and Computer Science (IASI), Italy
Ismael Navas Delgado, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Dimitris Plexousakis, University of Crete, Greece
Detlef Plump, University of York, UK
Isidoro Ramos, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
Nicolas Sabouret, Laboratoire d'Informatique de Paris 6, Paris, France
Simon Scerri, Digital Enterprise Research Institute (DERI), Galway, Ireland
Bernhard Schandl, Department of Distributed and 
Multimedia Systems, University of Vienna, Austria
Ulrich Schiel, DSC, Universidade Federal de Campina Grande, Brazil
Elena Simperl, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Bala Srinivasan, Monash University, Australia
Shigeo Sugimoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Christian Thomsen, Dept. of Computer Science, Aalborg University, Denmark
A Min Tjoa, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Riccardo Torlone, Università Roma Tre, Italy
Mario Verdicchio, University of Bergamo, Italy
Kim Viljanen, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland
Albert Weichselbraun, Vienna University of 
Economics and Business Administration, Austria
Werner Winiwarter, University of Vienna, Austria
Marek Wisniewski, Poznan University of Economics, Poland
Wolfram Wöß, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria

Received on Tuesday, 2 March 2010 09:48:51 UTC