W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > July 2010

Re: Show me the money - (was Subjects as Literals)

From: Tim Finin <finin@cs.umbc.edu>
Date: Thu, 01 Jul 2010 15:03:29 -0400
Message-ID: <4C2CE681.8060402@cs.umbc.edu>
To: Henry Story <henry.story@gmail.com>
CC: Jeremy Carroll <jeremy@topquadrant.com>, Yves Raimond <yves.raimond@gmail.com>, Pat Hayes <phayes@ihmc.us>, Toby Inkster <tai@g5n.co.uk>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>, nathan@webr3.org, Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Linked Data community <public-lod@w3.org>, Semantic Web <semantic-web@w3.org>
On 7/1/10 2:51 PM, Henry Story wrote:
 > ...
> So just as a matter of interest, imagine a new syntax came along that allowed literals in
> subject position, could you not write a serialiser for it that turned
>     "123" length 3 .
> Into
>   _:b owl:sameAs "123";
>       length 3.
> ?
> So that really you'd have to do no work at all?
> Just wondering....

Isn't owl:sameAs defined to be a relation between two
URI references?  Even if not, it is symmetric and
would have the above imply {"123" owl:sameAs _:b .}


Received on Thursday, 1 July 2010 19:04:20 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:48:11 UTC