W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > June 2008

Re: SWIG Scotland

From: Sean Bechhofer <sean.bechhofer@manchester.ac.uk>
Date: Mon, 9 Jun 2008 15:06:35 +0100
Message-Id: <1BF4F8BE-D5BA-47D5-9854-9FC005C9593A@manchester.ac.uk>
Cc: "John Domingue" <j.b.domingue@open.ac.uk>, "Keith Alexander" <k.j.w.alexander@gmail.com>, semantic-web@w3.org, "Tom Heath" <Tom.Heath@talis.com>, "Jerome Euzenat" <Jerome.Euzenat@inrialpes.fr>, "Knud Hinnerk Möller" <knud.moeller@deri.org>, shyamasundar@gmail.com, "Chris Bizer" <chris@bizer.de>, "Richard Cyganiak" <richard@cyganiak.de>, "Denny Vrandečić" <dvr@aifb.uni-karlsruhe.de>, "Huajun Chen @ Zhejiang University" <huajunsir@gmail.com>, "Tim Finin" <finin@cs.umbc.edu>
To: Alexandre Passant <alex@passant.org>


I was discussing just this with someone at ESWC. It should now be  
really easy to rebuild the CS Aktive Space "collaboration map" using  
all the various linked data sets out there.

	Sean

On 9 Jun 2008, at 10:40, Alexandre Passant wrote:

> Hi,
>
> On Sun, Jun 8, 2008 at 12:14 PM, John Domingue  
> <j.b.domingue@open.ac.uk> wrote:
>> Thanks to the hard work of a number of "Dogfood Czars" we now  
>> collect fairly
>> extensive meta data for ISWC, ESWC and ASWC. Maybe if not already  
>> included
>> we should collect geographic information as well. Also hope one  
>> day someone
>> here creates the appropriate mashup [cc'ing the current and previous
>> involved folks]
>
> foafmap.net handles files containing foaf:group instances so it can be
> used to display ESWC / ISWC / etc attendees on such a map.
> Tom already used it for ESWC2005 delegates, see http://foafmap.net/ 
> user/28
>
> Coordinates are retrieved from each FOAF profile (just need seeAlso
> links in the group file).
> At the moment, they must be directly added in the file using the geo84
> vocab but I can extend it to deal with geonames URI and then retrieve
> coordinates from geonames.org.
>
> Alex.
>
>> cheers
>>
>> john
>>
>>
>> On 8 Jun 2008, at 10:37, Keith Alexander wrote:
>>
>> Hi,
>>
>> Anyone here based in Scotland?
>>
>> Norman Gray, Harry Halpin, Jeff Pan and I met up in ESWC last  
>> week, realised
>> that there are at least a few of us in Scotland interested in  
>> semantic web,
>> and thought it would be nice to get together sometime and talk  
>> triples.
>>
>> If you are in Scotland, and interested in meeting up, please join
>>  http://groups.google.com/group/swig-scotland, and we can discuss  
>> dates and
>> places.
>>
>> Cheers,
>>
>> Keith Alexander
>>
>> --
>> --
>>
>>
>>
>> __________________________
>> Prof. John Domingue,
>> Knowledge Media Institute,
>> The Open University,
>> Walton Hall, Milton Keynes, MK6 7AA
>> http://kmi.open.ac.uk/people/domingue/
>> The Open University is incorporated by Royal Charter (RC 000391),  
>> an exempt
>> charity in England & Wales and a charity registered in Scotland  
>> (SC 038302).
>>

--
Sean Bechhofer
School of Computer Science
University of Manchester
sean.bechhofer@manchester.ac.uk
http://www.cs.manchester.ac.uk/people/bechhofer
Received on Monday, 9 June 2008 14:08:14 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Thursday, 24 March 2022 20:41:10 UTC