W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > December 2007

Re[2]: XML namespaces and RDF

From: Max Voelkel <voelkel@fzi.de>
Date: Thu, 13 Dec 2007 20:20:25 +0100
Message-ID: <153442672.20071213202025@fzi.de>
To: Semantic Web <semantic-web@w3.org>
CC: Michael Rys <mrys@microsoft.com>

Hey semantic web,

  is    there    anywhere   a   general   rule   *defined*   how   to   expand
  namespace-prefixed-XML-localnames  such  as  xs:dayTimeDuration  into  a  full
  (possibly de-referencable) URI?

in http://www.w3.org/TR/xpath-datamodel/#notation it says:
The following bindings are assumed.
xs: bound to http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema

This implies from XML namespace rules that e.g.
xs:dayTimeDuration  expands to
which is not a dereferencable URI.

Is   this correct and intended? For RDF, one uses usually namespace declarations
that end with "/" or "#".

Michael Rys responds:
MR> Namespace prefixes in XML are not concatenated to the names in the way that
MR> you do it below. Instead they form a tuple
MR> (namespace-uri, local-name).

MR> There are different expanded name notations being used, such as
MR> {http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema}dayTimeDuration,
MR> which is non-dereferencable, or
MR> http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema#dayTimeDuration which can be.

Thanks  a  lot for your quick response. Is there a sort of authorative "expanded
name   notation"?   Especially  one  talking  about  "#"  would   be  great  to
read/reference. I have no idea what to Google for.

[1] 'defines' (but only in the examples) the rule: <url> =  <namespace> + <localname>

[1] http://www.w3.org/TR/rdf-primer/

Kind Regards,
       Max Völkel
       voelkel@fzi.de | www.Xam.de
       office     +49 721 96 54-854
       mobile     +49 171 83 59 678
FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 10-14, D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49-721-9654-0, Fax: +49-721-9654-959
Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts, Az: 14-0563.1 Regierungspräsidium Karlsruhe.
Vorstand: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Dillmann, Dipl. Wi.-Ing. Michael Flor
Prof. Dr. Dr.-Ing. Jivka Ovtcharova, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Rudi Studer
Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums: Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus
Received on Thursday, 13 December 2007 19:20:43 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Tuesday, 5 July 2022 08:45:04 UTC