Extended deadline EUSAI 2004

******* EUSAI 2004 **********************************************
******* Second European Symposium on Ambient Intelligence *******

	Call for Papers

	November 8-10, 2004
	Eindhoven University of Technology
	Eindhoven, The Netherlands

*	            EXTENDED DEADLINE !!!				
*     Full & short papers, workshop proposals, tutorials  		
* 	                 due May 17				


Ambient Intelligence represents a vision of the future where we shall be surrounded by electronic environments, sensitive and responsive to people.  Ambient intelligence technologies are expected to combine concepts of ubiquitous computing and intelligent systems putting humans in the centre of technological developments.  Ambient Intelligence represents a long-term objective for European research bringing together researchers across multiple disciplines: computer science, electronics and mechanical engineering, design, architecture, social sciences, software engineering, to name a few.  

Following a successful first event last year, the Second European Symposium on Ambient Intelligence, will be held in Eindhoven in the Netherlands, on November 8-10, 2004.  It aims to provide a venue for an emerging multi-disciplinary community of researchers that work on Ambient Intelligence.


Ted Selker (MIT Media Lab, USA)
Tom Rodden (University of Nottingham, UK)


The symposium addresses the following research areas in Ambient Intelligence systems: 

- Ubiquitous computing: wired, wireless and ad-hoc networking, discovery mechanisms, software architectures, system integration and prototyping, portable devices. 

- Context awareness: sensors, tracking and positioning, smart devices, wearable, models of context of use, software architectures for multi platform interfaces.

- Intelligence: learning algorithms, user profiling, personalisation and adaptivity, recommenders, autonomous intelligence, agent based user interfaces. 

- Natural user-system interaction: ambient interfaces, multimodal interaction, innovative interaction styles and concepts.


General Chairs:  
	Panos Markopoulos (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Berry Eggen (Eindhoven University of Technology)
Program Chairs:  
	Panos Markopoulos (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Berry Eggen (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Emile Aarts (Philips Research Laboratories Eindhoven) 
	James Crowley (Institut National Polytechnique Grenoble)
Tutorials chair:
	Boris de Ruyter (Philips Research Laboratories Eindhoven)
Workshops chair:	
	Ian McClelland (Philips Digital Systems Lab Eindhoven)
Demonstrations chairs:
	Kristof Van Laerhoven (Lancaster University)
	Gerd Kortuem (Lancaster University)
Posters chair:	
	Wijnand IJsselsteijn (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Harm van Essen (Eindhoven University of Technology)
Communications and Venue:
	Elise van den Hoven (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Evelien Perik (Eindhoven University of Technology)
Press Liaison:
	Franka van Neerven - van den Broek (Eindhoven University of Technology)
Conference System Management:
	Natalia Romero (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Boris de Ruyter (Philips Research Laboratories Eindhoven)
	Andres Lucero (Eindhoven University of Technology)


	Don Bouwhuis (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Rene Collier (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Joelle Coutaz (	CLIPS-IMAG)
	Alexandra Cristea (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	James Crowley (Institut National Polytechnique Grenoble)
	Anind K. Dey (Intel Research Berkeley)
	Alexis Drogoul (LIP 6 - University Paris 6)
	Babak Farshchian (Telenor R&D)	
	Loe Feijs (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Paulo Ferreira (INESC ID / IST)
	Hans W. Gellersen (University of Lancaster)
	Marianne Graves Petersen (University of Aarhus)
	Srinivas Gutta (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Lars Erik Holmquist (Viktoria Institute)
	Achilles Kameas (Computer Technology Institute / Hellenic Open University)
	Jan Korst (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Ben Kröse (University of Amsterdam)
	Stephen Kyffin (Philips Design)
	Marc Langheinrich (ETH Zurich)
	Evert van Loenen (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Patrizia Marti (University of Sienna)
	Irene Mavromatti (Computer Technology Institute / University of the Aegean)
	Paddy Nixon (University of Strathclyde)
	Eamonn O'Neil (University Of Bath)
	Kees Overbeeke (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Steffen Pauws (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Antti Pirhonen (University of Jyväskylä)
	Johan Plomp (VTT Electronics)
	Alexandra Psarrou (University of Westminster)
	Hartmut Raffler (Siemens AG, Corporate Technology)
	Thomas Rist (DFKI, German Research Center for AI)
	Christopher Roast (Sheffield Hallam)
	Anxo Roibas (University of Brighton)
	Boris de Ruyter (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Bernt Schiele (ETH Zurich)
	Albrecht Smidt (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)
	Kostas Stathis (University of Pisa)
	Jacques Terken (Eindhoven University of Technology)
	Wim Verhaegh (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Fabio Vignoli (Philips Research Eindhoven)
	Andy Wilson (Microsoft Research)


May 17	Full and short papers, workshop proposals, tutorials 
June 28	Posters and demonstration proposals


Full papers (up to 12 pages) should present significant and innovative research work.
Short papers (up to 4 pages) should present innovative work in progress, in areas related to the conference topics.

Submissions should follow the format of Springer publications (http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html).

Posters, tutorials, workshop and demonstration proposals, should be submitted according to the instructions found on the conference website (http://www.eusai.net). 

All submissions must be made electronically through the conference website.


The EUSAI 2004 proceedings including all accepted papers (short and full) will be published by Springer, as part of the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series (http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/index.html). 

Extended Abstracts describing posters, tutorials, workshops and demonstrations will be published in separate adjunct proceedings. 


For more information, please contact info@eusai.net or look at http://www.eusai.net.

Received on Thursday, 6 May 2004 05:47:31 UTC