W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-ws-desc-state@w3.org > June 2003

Re: Some requirements

From: Sanjiva Weerawarana <sanjiva@watson.ibm.com>
Date: Tue, 17 Jun 2003 12:58:48 +0600
Message-ID: <0c8c01c3349e$276f2b60$72545ecb@lankabook2>
To: "Savas Parastatidis" <Savas.Parastatidis@newcastle.ac.uk>, "Umit Yalcinalp" <umit.yalcinalp@oracle.com>
Cc: <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Steve Graham" <sggraham@us.ibm.com>, "David Snelling" <d.snelling@fle.fujitsu.com>, "Jim Webber" <jim.webber@arjuna.com>, "Paul Watson" <Paul.Watson@newcastle.ac.uk>, <public-ws-desc-state@w3c.org>, "Steve Tuecke" <tuecke@mcs.anl.gov>

"Savas Parastatidis" <Savas.Parastatidis@newcastle.ac.uk> writes:
> should have used the IDL specification instead of C++. IDL is used to
> describe OO interfaces and not to define the behavioural semantics of a
> component model. It is my understanding that WSDL is used to define the

In IDL if one says:

    interface foo {
        attribute string x;
    }

That means the generated language interface will have methods getx()
and setx(.). Thus, IDL does tell you precisely what methods are 
available to access the state.

Sanjiva.
Received on Tuesday, 17 June 2003 03:00:24 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:32:54 UTC