W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-wot-ig@w3.org > November 2016

Re: Regular Web of Things call on scripting API

From: Benjamin Francis <bfrancis@mozilla.com>
Date: Tue, 1 Nov 2016 11:49:37 +0000
Message-ID: <CAKQmVV-roaziwPSmkYbv1mx7CQcN_S8DsiC2n9JeCuRuBfkeDg@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Hund, Johannes" <johannes.hund@siemens.com>
Cc: "public-wot-ig@w3.org" <public-wot-ig@w3.org>
>
> Ben from Mozilla is still wondering whether we should standardize
> scripting API.


To explain, I think the use cases of both the "Scripting API" and the "WoT
Interface" could be fulfilled by a single WoT REST API.

For example, rather than a function call like:

WoT.createThingFromDescription({"name": "My Temperature Sensor", ...});

Registering a new Thing should be an HTTP POST request with a Thing
Description in the body, e.g.:

POST http://mythingserver.com/things
{
  "name: "My Temperature Sensor",
  ...
}

There's nothing to stop someone from creating a helper library to call that
REST API from a particular programming language, but I see no need to
standardise a language-agnostic scripting API for this purpose. In fact
doing so could be problematic (not all languages natively support the
concept of Promises you're using for example).

As I understand it this is how Google Weave and EVRYTHNG APIs work, and
it's how other platforms work too (sometimes with a REST API being called
behind a provided language-specific software library). It's also how I
would expect Mozilla's implementation to work.

Ben

On 31 October 2016 at 13:18, Hund, Johannes <johannes.hund@siemens.com>
wrote:

> Dear group,
>
>
>
> We just had another call on the scripting API track.
>
>
>
> See minutes: http://www.w3.org/2016/10/31-wot-minutes.html
>
> Thanks to Yingying for scribing.
>
>
>
> These calls will be done regularly, we plan for weekly calls at first.
>
> As reference, we used 13:00 CET, which leads to some daylight savings
> trouble.
>
>
>
> Next call time on and after Monday, November 7, 2016
>
>
>
> - 4am US Pacific
>
> - 7am US Eastern
>
> - Noon UK
>
> - 1pm Central Europe
>
> - 8pm China
>
> - 9pm Korea/Japan
>
>
>
> Meeting link: https://mit.webex.com/mit/j.php?MTID=
> m2a1901e571dec21225ed85d7d5b3585f
>
>
>
> Irc used is #wot on irc.w3.org
>
>
>
> We mainly focus these calls on technical work, and as sync points for the
> discussion on Github: https://github.com/w3c/wot/labels/Scripting
>
>
>
> Issues, proposals and other agenda points to be discussed are collected on
> the beginning of the call (agenda-bashing).
>
>
>
> Please feel greatly invited to join if you are interested in contributing
> to or implementing scripting topics for the Web of Things.
>
>
>
> Best regards,
>
> Johannes
>
Received on Tuesday, 1 November 2016 11:50:10 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:27:08 UTC