W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > whatwg@whatwg.org > October 2013

Re: [whatwg] Supporting scanners on the web

From: Rick Waldron <waldron.rick@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 14 Oct 2013 20:30:13 -0400
Message-ID: <CAHfnhfpnFGZLaR4rfv2LV94JJvT5DiOQ1Mi-nCYo0hqiJUnKWg@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Cc: WHAT Working Group <whatwg@whatwg.org>, Jeff Muizelaar <jmuizelaar@mozilla.com>, Benjamin Smedberg <benjamin@smedbergs.us>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Does providing a means to scan-to-the-web make web developers a new group
for patent trolls to target?
https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2013/01/scanning-documents-patent-trolls-want-you-pay

Rick


On Mon, Oct 14, 2013 at 8:21 PM, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch> wrote:

> On Mon, 14 Oct 2013, Jonas Sicking wrote:
> > On Mon, Oct 14, 2013 at 3:33 PM, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch> wrote:
> > > On Mon, 30 Sep 2013, Benjamin Smedberg wrote:
> > >>
> > >> For now I intend to focus on implementing the scanning UI in the
> > >> browser and just handing the site the final product. Any thoughts of
> > >> exposing a fine-grained control over previews and incremental results
> > >> needs significantly more thought about how that would work on both
> > >> desktop and mobile devices.
> > >
> > > I'd recommend going with <input type=file accept=image/*> for now, and
> > > seeing where that gets us. We can always add attributes or an API if
> > > there's a real need for more control.
> >
> > For what it's worth, I think the way I would do this in Firefox is to
> > add an addon hook for "image providers" (and maybe "video providers")
> > which would allow us to create an WebActiity/AndroidIntent-like chooser.
>
> Yeah, that seems eminently reasonable.
>
> --
> Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
> http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
> Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
>
Received on Tuesday, 15 October 2013 00:31:01 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Wednesday, 22 January 2020 17:00:11 UTC