W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webpayments-ig@w3.org > May 2015

Re: [payment arch] Agenda: Payment Architecture Task Force - Thursday, May 14th 2015

From: Joseph Potvin <jpotvin@opman.ca>
Date: Thu, 14 May 2015 05:59:52 -0400
Message-ID: <CAKcXiSq0au=vTJA0Boq_7Ke5w80a6_h1MdigjLhDb+dGPb6d3Q@mail.gmail.com>
To: Web Payments IG <public-webpayments-ig@w3.org>
I would like to raise a general consideration:

What aspects of this Technical Architecture are unique to "Web" mediated
payment, what what aspects are generic to payment via any medium?

The reason I ask is that it seems to me that a generic payments technical
architecture provides the functional system environment within and upon
which a Web payments technical architecture occurs.  Therefore it seems to
me critical to clearly separate these two in the document.

If this is included as an agenda item, discussion of the substance of the
distinction would take up too much time, but it might be efficient to
discuss whether or not such a distinction is or is not required in this
document, and if so, determine general approach to take towards addressing
this.

Joseph Potvin
Operations Manager | Gestionnaire des opérations
The Opman Company | La compagnie Opman
jpotvin@opman.ca
Mobile: 819-593-5983

On Thu, May 14, 2015 at 1:38 AM, Manu Sporny <msporny@digitalbazaar.com>
wrote:

> We have a Payment Architecture Task Force meeting later today. Here's
> the draft agenda.
>
> If you'd like anything added or changed on the proposed Agenda, please
> send the request to the mailing list or mention it at the beginning of
> the teleconference. Call details and rough Agenda are below:
>
> ==========
> Web Payments IG - Payment Architecture Task Force Meeting (Thursday)
> Thursday, May 14th 2015
> Time: 14:00 UTC / 7am San Francisco / 10am Boston / 3pm London
>                 / 4pm Paris / 5pm Moscow / 10pm Beijing
> Web Payments IG Telecon Bridge
> Phone US: +1.617.761.6200 x9729 ("WPAY")
> VoIP: sip:zakim@voip.w3.org
> Chat: http://tinyurl.com/w3c-wpay
> Duration: 60 minutes
> Scribes: Laurent, Katie, Pat, DaveR, DavidE, Manu, Ian, Adrian
> ==========
>
> Agenda
> ------
>
> 1. Sprint update
>    * Review work done
>    *
>
> https://docs.google.com/document/d/1FbHscEFUA1P6Frm9h-98bgBF8oCNNu3_0BZh8l7Aa0c/edit#
> 2. Ian's proposed changes
> 3. Plan next sprint
>
> -- manu
>
> --
> Manu Sporny (skype: msporny, twitter: manusporny, G+: +Manu Sporny)
> Founder/CEO - Digital Bazaar, Inc.
> blog: The Marathonic Dawn of Web Payments
> http://manu.sporny.org/2014/dawn-of-web-payments/
>
>


--
Received on Thursday, 14 May 2015 10:00:41 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:08:35 UTC