W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webevents@w3.org > July to September 2011

Re: Fwd: Joystick support

From: Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>
Date: Mon, 29 Aug 2011 17:54:47 +0300
Message-ID: <4E5BA837.4090903@helsinki.fi>
To: Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>
CC: "public-webevents@w3.org" <public-webevents@w3.org>, Scott Graham <scottmg@chromium.org>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Dzung Tran <dzung.d.tran@intel.com>, Olli Pettay <opettay@mozilla.com>, Robin Berjon <robin.berjon@gmail.com>, Paul Bakaus <pbakaus@zynga.com>
On 08/29/2011 03:44 PM, Arthur Barstow wrote:
> Hi All - FYI, below is a thread started by Scott Graham re creating a
> Joystick API standard [1]. I am forwarding Scott's email to the Web
> Events WG's list since some people suggested this WG would be a
> reasonable place to create a W3C standard for this API.
>
> Scott - when you have created the "rough strawman" you referred to in
> [2], please notify the public-webevents@w3.org list.
>


Well, there is already https://wiki.mozilla.org/JoystickAPI
as a possible starting point for discussions.


-Olli



> -Art Barstow
>
> [1] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-webapps/2011JulSep/1019.html
> [2] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-webapps/2011JulSep/1032.html
>
> -------- Original Message --------
> Subject: Joystick support
> Resent-Date: Thu, 25 Aug 2011 07:18:47 +0000
> Resent-From: <public-webapps@w3.org>
> Date: Wed, 24 Aug 2011 12:23:54 -0700
> From: ext Scott Graham <scottmg@chromium.org>
> To: <public-webapps@w3.org>
>
>
>
> Hello,
>
> I noticed that Mozilla has started to prototype support for Joystick
> events. There's some documentation on this effort
> https://wiki.mozilla.org/JoystickAPI as well as a prototype
> https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=604039
>
> I'm also interested in adding support for joysticks to Chromium and so
> would like to open the discussion up to a broader audience. Do others
> see this as a valuable API? Or have comments on the design?
>
> scott
>
>
>
>
>
Received on Monday, 29 August 2011 14:55:52 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:03:53 UTC