W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2014

RE: [Editing] Splitting Selection API Into a Separate Specification

From: Domenic Denicola <domenic@domenicdenicola.com>
Date: Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:09:48 +0000
To: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>
CC: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Ted O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>, "Ehsan Akhgari" <ehsan@mozilla.com>, Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>, Yoshifumi Inoue <yosin@chromium.org>, Ben Peters <Ben.Peters@microsoft.com>, Johannes Wilm <johannes@fiduswriter.com>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>
Message-ID: <ddcb95e1f6424270a386cc698d4f5cdc@BN1PR05MB325.namprd05.prod.outlook.com>
From: Ryosuke Niwa [mailto:rniwa@apple.com] 

> Given defining innerText is completely outside the scope of the selection API specification, we might need to defer this part to a level 2 specification since the only alternative is to wait for someone to write a innerText spec.

I don't know all the history here, but this bug and proto-spec seems relevant:

- https://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=13145
- https://web.archive.org/web/20121127212525/http://aryeh.name/spec/innertext/innertext.html

The work already done on this might make including innerText-dependent features more feasible.
Received on Friday, 11 April 2014 14:10:19 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 18:14:24 UTC