W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-w3process@w3.org > October 2017

Re: Working group voting procedures in Process 2018

From: L. David Baron <dbaron@dbaron.org>
Date: Tue, 24 Oct 2017 16:18:55 -0700
To: Chaals McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex.ru>
Cc: Jeff Jaffe <jeff@w3.org>, Michael Champion <Michael.Champion@microsoft.com>, W3C AC-Forum <w3c-ac-forum@w3.org>, "chairs@w3.org" <chairs@w3.org>, "ab@w3.org" <ab@w3.org>, "public-w3process@w3.org" <public-w3process@w3.org>
Message-ID: <20171024231855.ydpth23rtwzpph2o@pescadero.dbaron.org>
On Tuesday 2017-10-24 23:33 +0200, Chaals McCathie Nevile wrote:
> I happen to think that the "one person, one vote" approach is sounder than
> what we had, given that we are less defensive than we were 20 years ago
> about whether organisations were trying to stack groups to get outcomes that
> favoured thme over others. Which is not to ignore that as an issue, just
> clarify that the assumption these days is that individuals are generally
> expected to present their best understanding rather than a corporate policy
> designed to achieve a competitive edge.

I think the one WG where I've heard (I think?) of votes being used
in the last few years is Tracking Protection, which is also one of
the working groups where I'd be most worried about this sort of
stacking.

In other words, I think I'd agree with your characterization of
expected behavior for most W3C working groups, but I think it's
least true in the working groups where votes are most likely to be
used -- the ones where neither side in a dispute is willing to move
towards consensus.

-David

-- 
𝄞   L. David Baron                         http://dbaron.org/   𝄂
𝄢   Mozilla                          https://www.mozilla.org/   𝄂
             Before I built a wall I'd ask to know
             What I was walling in or walling out,
             And to whom I was like to give offense.
               - Robert Frost, Mending Wall (1914)

Received on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 23:19:35 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:51:45 UTC