W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > September 2013

Re: proposed COI call Wed 4 Sep

From: Kerstin Forsberg <kerstin.l.forsberg@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 3 Sep 2013 08:50:32 +0200
Message-Id: <A50811E8-316F-4757-8D63-F6061BBFF886@gmail.com>
Cc: "public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, Charlie Mead <charlie.mead@yahoo.com>, Josh Mandel <jmandel@gmail.com>, Hans Constandt <hans@ontoforce.com>, Christel Daniel <christel.daniel@crc.jussieu.fr>, Sajjad Hussain <sajjad.hussain@crc.jussieu.fr>, Mustafa Yuksel <mustafa@srdc.com.tr>, Gokce Banu Laleci Erturkmen <gokce@srdc.com.tr>, Erick Von Schweber <erick@surveyorhealth.com>, "Solbrig, Harold R." <Solbrig.Harold@mayo.edu>, Stan Huff <Stan.Huff@imail.org>, "Jiang, Guoqian, M.D., Ph.D." <Jiang.Guoqian@mayo.edu>, "Emory Fry (Google Drive)" <eafry@gmx.com>, Conor Dowling <conor-dowling@caregraf.com>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>
To: Eric Prud'hommeaux <eric@w3.org>
Hi Eric,
Thanks for the link to the RIM RDF tutorial, will read with great interest. 

I'll not able to join tomorrow. Two thoughts re. mappings. 

- How to align this with the interest in getting RDF (SKOS) versions directly from source (eg we have a good interaction with MedDRA MSSO about this).

- Mapping provenance
The justification and attribution of the mappings (between concept/terms) are key to trust them. At the ICBO conference earlier this summer we discussed the idea of turning for example the mappings in the Bioportal into Nanopublications based on some great work by Jim McCusker. So that the Bioportal mappings stated as skos:closeMatch also would have the justification of them as being the results of using the LOOM lexical algorithm. An alternative would be to treat mappings as linksets as done by Open PHACTS and provide the justification for the links/mappings (between entities) as part of the linkset description in VoID. Alasdair Gray is working on a nice proposal 1) on this based on the W3C HCLS task force for dataset discovery and description that Michel lead.

1) Open PHACTS’s Dataset description specification

Regards
Kerstin

On 3 sep 2013, at 07:39, Eric Prud'hommeaux <eric@w3.org> wrote:

> Emory proposed that we meet tomorrow at 7:30am US Eastern to make
> progress on shared terminology mappings. That's 4:30 for west-coasters
> so if anyone's attending from there, we can split the call into
> 30 mins on term mapping when Emory can make it and
> 30 minutes on outreach material at the regular time 3.5 hours later.
> 
> Please reply with scheduling constraints and I'll do my best to
> accomodate.
> 
> minutes of prior meetings:
> http://www.w3.org/2013/07/12-hcls-minutes
> http://www.w3.org/2013/07/18-hcls-minutes
> http://www.w3.org/2013/08/07-hcls2-minutes
> 
> proposed agenda:
> updates on collab between TAPS and SALUS on sharing terminology mappings
>  [Conor, Gökçe, Emory]
> education/outreach material, e.g.
>  http://www.w3.org/2013/HCLS-tutorials/RIM/
>  http://www.w3.org/2013/C-CDA/IJ.xml
>  more stuff from SMART
> 
> Please RSVP so I can get a head count for the bridge reservation.
> 
> Call will be from 11:30-12:30 UTC (07:30 EDT) (13:30 CET)
> using the Zakim Bridge: +1.617.761.6200, with
> Conference Code: 4257 ("HCLS")
> For text, we will use the IRC channel #hcls on irc.w3.org port 6665.
> Please try out <http://irc.w3.org/> if you don't have an IRC client.
> 
> -- 
> -ericP
> 

Received on Tuesday, 3 September 2013 06:51:02 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:21:35 UTC