W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-sdw-wg@w3.org > February 2016

Re: Chris Little's comments on the BP - Issues 128 and 204

From: Raphaël Troncy <raphael.troncy@eurecom.fr>
Date: Fri, 19 Feb 2016 10:00:14 +0100
To: Ed Parsons <eparsons@google.com>, George Percivall <gpercivall@opengeospatial.org>
Cc: Jon Blower <j.d.blower@reading.ac.uk>, Frans Knibbe <frans.knibbe@geodan.nl>, SDW WG <public-sdw-wg@w3.org>, Chris Little <chris.little@metoffice.gov.uk>, Jeremy Tandy <jeremy.tandy@gmail.com>
Message-ID: <56C6D99E.4060202@eurecom.fr>
Hello Ed,

> Thanks for your comments, you are of course correct that
> much authoritative data held in various SDI' are published in local CRS
> with various levels of visibility on the web. However they now represent
> a very small proportion of the spatial data now on the web, I wonder how
> many minutes of geocoded instagram pictures is equivalent to the French
> Open Data Portal.

Of course, I'm arguing that the mere quantity argument should be 
balanced with the authoritative and provenance argument. The French Open 
Data Portal attracts thousands of regular web developers that are highly 
encouraged (via hackatons, etc.) to re-use those high quality datasets: 
the ultimate administrative decomposition of the territory, the ultimate 
statistics in terms of employment, census, health, security, education, 
that all ministers provide, etc. There are already hundreds of 
applications that re-use those datasets, just go to the portal, you can 
see them all including their social ranking. You can also read the 
frequent complains about the average web developers that fight regularly 
on this issue, interpreting accurately the coordinates provided in those 
datasets. This is not about professional geospatialists, this is about 
average web developers that want to develop apps using authoritative 
data. I'm arguing that those people are largely part of our audience.

   Raphaël

-- 
Raphaël Troncy
EURECOM, Campus SophiaTech
Data Science Department
450 route des Chappes, 06410 Biot, France.
e-mail: raphael.troncy@eurecom.fr & raphael.troncy@gmail.com
Tel: +33 (0)4 - 9300 8242
Fax: +33 (0)4 - 9000 8200
Web: http://www.eurecom.fr/~troncy/
Received on Friday, 19 February 2016 09:00:48 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Thursday, 24 March 2022 20:31:20 UTC