W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-rdf-ruby@w3.org > May 2015

Re: Ruby SPARQL Update implementation

From: Aymeric Brisse <aymeric.brisse@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 5 May 2015 09:05:38 +0200
Message-ID: <CANURzhi=3oeKj4W25t6GcPHQrHG1huA14Lt-We-jeppWjnPekQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Arto Bendiken <arto@bendiken.net>
Cc: W3C Ruby RDF mailing list <public-rdf-ruby@w3.org>, Gregg Kellogg <gregg@greggkellogg.net>, Ben Lavender <blavender@gmail.com>, W3C Semantic Web IG <semantic-web@w3.org>
Congrats Gregg & Arto that's excellent news !
On May 5, 2015 2:20 AM, "Arto Bendiken" <arto@bendiken.net> wrote:

> On Tue, May 5, 2015 at 1:50 AM, Gregg Kellogg <gregg@greggkellogg.net>
> wrote:
> > The latest version of the Ruby SPARQL gem [1][2], version 1.1.6, has
> full support for SPARQL 1.1 Update [3].
> >
> > For those curious, the Update Grammar is parsed into Sparql
> S-Expressions, similar to those used for SPARQL Query and executed against
> any conforming Ruby RDF::Repository implementation. Sparql::Client [4] is
> available for querying remote SPARQL endpoints, and may be used as a
> convenient Domain Specific Language (DSL) for creating SPARQL queries,
> which may also target a native repository.
>
> Fantastic work, Gregg!
>
> This means that the RDF.rb stack is now the first from-scratch,
> feature-complete RDF & SPARQL framework that is 100% unencumbered
> public-domain code from top to bottom--anyone is free to learn from
> and adapt any useful bits from our code base to their favorite
> language, and being Ruby the design and implementation is pretty clean
> to boot; your SPARQL 1.1 parser [1] being a splendid case example of a
> concrete implementation not in conflict with pedagogic ends.
>
> It only took us five years, but it wasn't exactly a trivial task.
>
> I'll go ahead and gather from GitHub the comprehensive list of
> contributors to all RDF.rb subprojects so that we can list everyone in
> a CREDITS file. Must be a pretty long list by now.
>
> Next, upwards and onwards to RDF.rb 2.0 with the improvements
> (transactionality, etc) we've discussing as of late.
>
> [1]
> https://github.com/ruby-rdf/sparql/blob/develop/lib/sparql/grammar/parser11.rb
>
> --
> Arto Bendiken | @bendiken | http://ar.to
>
>
Received on Thursday, 7 May 2015 06:05:36 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:02:17 UTC