W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-publishing-sc@w3.org > November 2018

Re: Meeting times, structure, and alignment

From: Bill Kasdorf <kasdorf.bill@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 9 Nov 2018 12:33:21 -0500
Message-ID: <CALhciFiNxsKCRwK7Mmhpt5CLPsY1HxThEP7n_=yMq+NB4VRSFQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Liisa'" <lmccloy-kelley@penguinrandomhouse.com>
Cc: "Johnson, Rick" <Rick.Johnson@vitalsource.com>, "PBG Steering Committee (Public)" <public-publishing-sc@w3.org>
I think we can best achieve the goal of having the broader publishing
community in the discussion by having the discussions in the context of the
BG, not the SC.

It makes sense to me for the actual chairs to coordinate--that is
coordinate procedural, logistical type things--but to avoid having the
substantive discussions there. The coordination would involve making sure
something _gets discussed_ but the discussion should happen in the BG.

I think that would be much more in line with the W3C process.The SC is
clearly an outlier--which some might see as an invasive species--in the W3C
structure. It made sense during TPI time, but we're moving back to standard
W3C structure now so we should be careful to align as well as we can with
the W3C structure and process.

--Bill

On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 12:04 PM McCloy-Kelley, Liisa <
lmccloy-kelley@penguinrandomhouse.com> wrote:

> Rick-
>
>
>
> One of the things that was discussed at TPAC (and is something the TAG
> does) was a rotating schedule of calls so that there are 3 timeblocks and
> it is at least decent for folks 2 out of 3 meetings. Luc and I talked about
> perhaps getting to something like that and less frequent and more organized
> calIs for the BG in the beginning of 2019. But in the meantime, there is a
> lot to do to figure out how we move forward and what the business needs, so
> keeping to at least bi-weekly for now made sense.
>
>
>
> To spell out what you are proposing and what it means for us (so that not
> everyone has to do the lookup I just did):
>
> 1300GMT            London 1pm
>
>                                 Paris 2pm
>
>                                 New York  8am
>
>                                 San Francisco 5am
>
>                                 Tokyo 10pm
>
>
>
> 2100GMT             London 9pm
>
>                                 Paris 10pm
>
>                                 New York  4pm
>
>                                 San Francisco 1pm
>
>                                 Tokyo 6am (next day)
>
>
>
> What do folks think?
>
>
>
> I think we haven’t really been using the Friday calls for agendas for the
> Tuesday calls for a long time. Sometimes we raise things there to talk
> about in advance, but we mostly have used those calls to keep things going
> with the EPUBcheck efforts over the last several months. Which has been
> quite successful thanks to the many efforts of mainly Tzviya, Rachel, Luc
> and George. Thank you to them.
>
>
>
> I am fine to change the purpose and name of that committee to something
> more related to coordination of the groups. I think we could do a better
> job of that generally. As I have mentioned in that call, it is hard to be a
> member of one of the groups and not all and still have a coherent picture
> of what is happening across. For us to give good value to membership at
> both the full and BG levels, we need to find a way to improve how we do
> that.
>
>
>
> Should it be the publishing-chairs group? We had specifically made the
> steering committee the chairs and the task force leaders, so maybe
> publishing-chairs-tf? I do think it is helpful to have both.
>
>
>
> Are we ready to let go of the idea of the steering committee?
>
>
>
> Personally, I still feel a responsibility to helping our broader
> publishing community feel like they can be a part of this work and have
> some say in the standards that guide what they are putting into the market
> without having to be engineers or having a ton of time to parse through
> rules and emails arguments about minutiae and semantics. I am hoping we can
> do that with the BG more as we move forward and with better coordination
> reporting back on the work and raising issues and questions at levels they
> can understand.
>
>
>
> Liisa
>
>
>
>
>
> *From: *"Johnson, Rick" <Rick.Johnson@vitalsource.com>
> *Date: *Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 6:15 AM
> *To: *W3C Publishing Steering Committee <public-publishing-sc@w3.org>
> *Subject: *Meeting times, structure, and alignment
> *Resent-From: *<public-publishing-sc@w3.org>
> *Resent-Date: *Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 6:15 AM
>
>
>
> Three things I’d like to discuss within this group:
>
>    1. Given the recent conversations about meeting times, and the
>    recommendation about looking at the ISO best practice on teleconferencing
>    (… there are only two windows where the timing of a two-hours conference is
>    bearable: 13GMT and 21GMT. This can be characterized as “where is the
>    night”, and the most frequent solution is “over the Pacific ocean” (which
>    corresponds to 13GMT)), is it time to consider moving all of the
>    publishing@w3c meetings (WG, BG, and CG) to these time slots?
>    2. Given the current nature of the steering committee (coordination),
>    I would like to suggest that we stop using the Friday calls (before the
>    bi-weekly BG call) to plan the BG meeting with this group.  The co-chairs
>    should arrange a call for that purpose, and we should use the Friday call
>    exclusively for coordinating activities between the three groups (taking
>    into account my third point below).
>    3. In anticipation of a re-chartering activity for the WG, and a
>    desire to remove any potential points of conflict that will only be
>    distracting as we go out to the AC (and the already voiced concerns from
>    some of the AC), the nature of this ‘steering committee’ should be aligned
>    with W3C practices.  Essentially, I’m suggesting that we eliminate all
>    references to a ‘steering committee’, officially disband it, and replace it
>    with a coordination committee that represents the three groups (WG, BG, CG)
>    and any other key areas.
>
>
>
>
>
> -Rick
>
>
>


-- 
*Bill Kasdorf*
*Principal, Kasdorf & Associates, LLC*

*Founding Partner, Publishing Technology Partners
<https://pubtechpartners.com/>*
kasdorf.bill@gmail.com
+1 734-904-6252

ISNI: http://isni.org/isni/0000000116490786
ORCiD: https://orcid.org/0000-0001-7002-4786
<https://orcid.org/0000-0001-7002-4786?lang=en>
Received on Friday, 9 November 2018 17:34:20 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 16:53:30 UTC