W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-pfwg@w3.org > October 2014

Re: ARIA role on HTML ul

From: Joseph Scheuhammer <clown@alum.mit.edu>
Date: Thu, 16 Oct 2014 09:47:57 -0400
Message-ID: <543FCC8D.8050808@alum.mit.edu>
To: Joseph Scheuhammer <clown@alum.mit.edu>, Alexander Surkov <surkov.alexander@gmail.com>
CC: Thierry Koblentz <thierry.koblentz@gmail.com>, Marco Zehe <marco.zehe@gmail.com>, LĂ©onie Watson <lwatson@paciellogroup.com>, Steve Faulkner <sfaulkner@paciellogroup.com>, Jason Kiss <jason@accessibleculture.org>, W3C WAI Protocols & Formats <public-pfwg@w3.org>
Correction:

On 2014-10-16 9:19 AM, Joseph Scheuhammer wrote:
> Why is the author re-purposing the <table> element as a dialog? There 
> are two uses of <table>:  data tables and layout tables.  I think it's 
> highly doubtful that the author is making a "dialog-data table".  It's 
> more likely they are capitalizing on the layout provided by <table> 
> for displaying their components of their dialog.  In that case, the 
> situation relates to "partial answer 1", and is equivalent to:
>
> <div role="table>
>   <table role="presentation> ... </table>
> </div>
>
> That is, if the author's rational for re-purposing a table as a dialog 
> for layout purposes, then the <table> semantics are those of a layout 
> table.  The <table> descendant elements inherit the presentation role. 

The markup should be:
<div role="dialog">
   <table role="presentation"> ... </table>
</div>

-- 
;;;;joseph.

'Array(16).join("wat" - 1) + " Batman!"'
            - G. Bernhardt -
Received on Thursday, 16 October 2014 13:48:25 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 16:45:10 UTC