W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-mathonwebpages@w3.org > March 2017

Re: [math-on-web] DST warning

From: Peter Krautzberger <peter.krautzberger@mathjax.org>
Date: Fri, 10 Mar 2017 15:36:47 +0100
Message-ID: <CABqxo83kwZWGD10v4O12uLmeXaWpZRiX2dfiw-NZ7bumVpw0pA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Olaf Drümmer <olaf.lists@druemmer.com>
Cc: mathonwebCG <public-mathonwebpages@w3.org>
Ah, thanks for correcting me.

The times are correct though.

Peter.

On Mar 10, 2017 3:32 PM, "Olaf Drümmer" <olaf.lists@druemmer.com> wrote:

Hi Peter,

I believe in your explanation you have it backwards...:

Europe: early morning of the last Sunday  in March and the last Sunday in
October are the dates when summer time is 'activated' / 'deactivated'

USA: switching to daylight saving time two weeks before Europe (i.e. on
March 12, 2017), and switching away from daylight saving time one week
after Europe (i.e. November 5, 2017); cf. https://www.timeanddate.
com/time/change/usa


For a complete overview, see https://www.timeanddate.
com/time/dst/events.html


Olaf



On 10 Mar 2017, at 15:00, Peter Krautzberger <peter.krautzberger@mathjax.org>
wrote:

Hi everyone,

Just a quick warning that some countries (e.g., Europe) are switching to
Summer / Daylight Saving Time this weekend while others (e.g., North
America) do not yet switch.

This only affects next week's meetings so, as a reminder, the meeting times
are:

*Main group: Thursday, 12pm Eastern Standard Time *

(which is, e.g., 5pm Central European Summer Time)

*A11Y Task Force:* *Monday, 4pm Central European Summer Time*

(which is, e.g., 11am Eastern Standard Time)

Best,
Peter.

PS: We probably should not be using two different time zones. Oh well.
Received on Friday, 10 March 2017 14:37:39 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 10 March 2017 14:37:40 UTC