W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-i18n-bidi@w3.org > April to June 2014

Re: [css-text] Arabic letters connecting between elements with display: inline

From: Asmus Freytag <asmusf@ix.netcom.com>
Date: Thu, 22 May 2014 14:31:49 -0700
Message-ID: <537E6CC5.6060407@ix.netcom.com>
To: Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, "Aharon (Vladimir) Lanin" <aharon@google.com>, fantasai <fantasai.lists@inkedblade.net>
CC: Simon Montagu <smontagu@mozilla.com>, Behdad Esfahbod <behdad@google.com>, "Amir E. Aharoni" <amir.aharoni@mail.huji.ac.il>, jfkthame@gmail.com, public-i18n-bidi@w3.org, www-style@w3.org, WWW International <www-international@w3.org>
On 5/22/2014 2:13 PM, Richard Ishida wrote:
> On 10/02/2014 19:20, Aharon (Vladimir) Lanin wrote:
>>     The issue is (as the title says) whether Arabic letters connect 
>> between
>>     elements with 'display: inline', for example in this case:
>>        <p>foo<span color="blue">bar</span>baz</p>
>>
>>
>> I think that there is little question that this is useful. And, barring
>> complications like font changes, it works in IE and FF. That it doesn't
>> work in WebKit and Blink is a bug.
>
>
> Fwiw, here's an example where you'd want to do that. Omantel is the 
> primary provider of internet services in Oman. (see the attachment)
>
> RI

Handling color breaks is reasonable. It's a really common task, e.g. in 
highlighting selections, so a lack of support is clearly a bug, even for 
ordinary rendering engines.

A./
Received on Thursday, 22 May 2014 21:32:27 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 20:24:41 UTC