W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-admin@w3.org > May 2013

Re: Formal Objection to Working Group Decision to publish Encrypted Media Extensions specification as a First Public Working Draft (FPWD)

From: Kornel Lesiński <kornel@geekhood.net>
Date: Fri, 31 May 2013 01:42:03 +0100
To: "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, "Mark Watson" <watsonm@netflix.com>
Cc: "John Foliot" <john@foliot.ca>, "Andreas Kuckartz" <A.Kuckartz@ping.de>, "Sam Ruby" <rubys@intertwingly.net>, "Tim Berners-Lee" <timbl@w3.org>, "public-html-admin@w3.org" <public-html-admin@w3.org>, public-html-media@w3.org, jeff@w3.org
Message-ID: <op.wxxawdtste2ec8@aimac>
On Fri, 31 May 2013 01:25:27 +0100, Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>  
wrote:

> The term "reduce" implies a comparison. What are you comparing with ? Not
> the situation today, I assume, since EME does not make anything less open
> than it is today with proprietary plugins.

IANAL, but I think that thanks to Silverlight's NPAPI today I can write my  
own browser that plays Netflix without violating the DMCA, but I can't  
legally reverse-engineer ChromeOS's CDM API and use its Netflix CDM in  
browser other than Chrome or in ChromiumOS.

-- 
regards, Kornel
Received on Friday, 31 May 2013 00:42:42 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:57:23 UTC