W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-epub3@w3.org > March 2019

Re: Reminder -- Chemistry Agenda March 26, 2019 at 14 UTC

From: Volker Sorge <volker.sorge@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 26 Mar 2019 00:48:22 +0000
Message-ID: <CAE5-06QLq03LfRUsgYB0DtteXZ-_YowFJSkravcyYoF+SS5vZA@mail.gmail.com>
To: George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>
Cc: W3C EPUB 3 Community Group <public-epub3@w3.org>, Transition to Accessible EPUB <transition-to-accessible-epub@daisy.org>, DIAGRAM Standards <diagram_standards@benetech.org>, Jessica White <jessica.white@macmillan.com>, Peter Murray Rust <pm286@cam.ac.uk>, "Supalo, Cary A" <csupalo@ets.org>, John Gardner <john.gardner@viewplus.com>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, "Liam R. E. Quin" <liam@fromoldbooks.org>, John Pedersen <jpederse@wiley.com>, "Soiffer, Neil" <soiffer@alum.mit.edu>, Ron Ellis <rone@benetech.org>, "Barrett, Dan" <Dan.Barrett@hmhco.com>, Derrick Smith <dws0009@uah.edu>, "Bressack, Cailin Barrett" <cbressack@wwnorton.com>, "Volpe, Christina" <cvolpe@wiley.com>, Joshua Hori <jhori@ucdavis.edu>, "Dorine in 't Veld" <DorineintVeld@dedicon.nl>
Dear All,

For action item 4a, I have made two versions of navigatable standalone
SVGs available at:
https://progressiveaccess.com/chemistry/embedded.html
The examples use the Aspirin molecule.

Best,
Volker

On Sun, 24 Mar 2019 at 17:27, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com> wrote:
>
> Dear Chemistry Best Practice for EPUB 3 folks,
>
>
>
> Just a reminder to all, and some new folks were added.
>
>
>
> Based on the Doodle pole, we have the following call scheduled:
>
> Date: March 26, 2019
>
> Time: 14 UTC, 7:00 a.m. Pacific coast North America, 10:00 New York, 14:00 London, 15:00 Zurich
>
> Video Call in: See Zoom information below agenda.
>
>  We will also use an IRC channel to minute the discussions:
>
> Address:  irc.w3.org  channel #epub3chem
>
>
>
> Agenda
>
> Volunteer scribe
> Welcome to new folks
> Approve minutes - find them at:
>
> https://www.w3.org/2019/02/20-epub3cg-minutes.html
>
> Github issue for reference:
>
> https://github.com/w3c/publ-cg/issues/66
>
> Action items
>
> volker can help on SVG being more navigable without JS. Probably providing links.
> Publishers can explore their workflows to see if SVG is a possibility.
>
> Proposed short term goals are:
>
> The focus should be on making things work with the existing EPUB 3 standard and existing EPUB 3 reading environments:
>
> -PNG with Alt Text is now the common practice
>
> - SVG with alt text as an improvement.
>
> - Work on navigation of chemistry in SVG
>
> - Identify the inline representation of chemistry. (the simple things)
>
> - Work with publishers to achieve accessible chemistry from their workflows.
>
> - Formalize the best practices or techniques.
>
> - Identify the EPUB 3 reading systems that provide good support for SVG.
>
> - Identify the gaps in existing standards that hold us back from really good representation of Chemistry.
>
> 6. Long term goals in a Chemistry CG that is linked to the Knowledge Domain CG
>
> 5. Next call date and time
>
>
>
> This meeting will be hosted on the Zoom system.
>
> Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android:
>
> https://zoom.us/j/4065494687
>
> Or dial in on one of the numbers below, using the meeting  id:
>
> 406-549-4687
>
>
>
> Telephone numbers:
>
> US: +1 669 900 6833  or +1 929 436 2866
>
> Australia: +61 (0) 2 8015 2088 or +61 (0) 8 7150 1149
>
> Brazil: +55 11 4680 6788 or +55 21 3958 7888
>
> France: +33 (0) 1 8288 0188
>
> Germany +49 (0) 30 3080 6188 or +49 (0) 30 5679 5800
>
> Italy: +39 069 480 6488
>
> Japan +81 (0) 3 4578 1488 or +81 524 564 439
>
> Spain: +34 84 368 5025 or +34 91 198 0188
>
> Sweden: +46 (0) 7 6692 0434 or +46 (0) 8 4468 2488
>
> Switzerland: +41 (0) 31 528 0988
>
> Netherlands: +31 (0) 20 241 0288
>
> United Kingdom: +44 20 3051 2874 or +44 (0) 20 3695 0088
>
> Other international numbers available: https://zoom.us/zoomconference
>
>
>
> A full list of keyboard shortcut keys can be found at:
>
> https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/205683899-Hot-Keys-and-Keyboard-Shortcuts-for-Zoom
>
> Some Keyboard Shortcuts for Windows
>
> •            F6: Navigate among Zoom popup windows.
>
> •            Ctrl+Alt+Shift: Move focus to Zoom's meeting controls
>
> •            Alt+U:Display/hide Participants panel
>
> •            Alt+Y: Raise/lower hand
>
> •            Alt+A: Mute/unmute audio
>
> •            Alt+V: Start/Stop Video
>
> •            Alt+H: Display/hide In-Meeting Chat panel
>
> •            Alt+N: Switch camera
>
> •            Alt+F: Enter or exit full screen
Received on Tuesday, 26 March 2019 00:48:57 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:44:32 UTC