W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-epub3@w3.org > March 2019

Chemistry Agenda March 26, 2019 at 14 UTC

From: George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>
Date: Sat, 9 Mar 2019 12:56:18 -0700
To: "W3C EPUB 3 Community Group" <public-epub3@w3.org>, "Transition to Accessible EPUB" <transition-to-accessible-epub@daisy.org>, "DIAGRAM Standards" <diagram_standards@benetech.org>
Cc: "George Kerscher" <kerscher@montana.com>, "Jessica White" <jessica.white@macmillan.com>, "Peter Murray Rust" <pm286@cam.ac.uk>, "Volker Sorge" <volker.sorge@gmail.com>, "Supalo, Cary A" <csupalo@ets.org>, "Lollie, Doris" <Doris_C_Lollie@omb.eop.gov>, "John Gardner" <john.gardner@ViewPlus.com>, "Judy Brewer" <jbrewer@w3.org>, "Janina Sajka" <janina@rednote.net>, "Liam R. E. Quin" <liam@fromoldbooks.org>, "John Pedersen" <jpederse@wiley.com>, "Soiffer, Neil" <soiffer@alum.mit.edu>, "Ron Ellis" <rone@benetech.org>, "Barrett, Dan" <Dan.Barrett@hmhco.com>, "Derrick Smith" <dws0009@uah.edu>, "Bressack, Cailin Barrett" <cbressack@wwnorton.com>
Message-ID: <001f01d4d6b2$2a3bc570$7eb35050$@montana.com>
Dear Chemistry Best Practice for EPUB 3 folks,
 
Based on the Doodle pole, we have the following call scheduled:
Date: March 26, 2019
Time: 14 UTC, 7:00 a.m. Pacific coast North America, 10:00 New York, 14:00
London, 15:00 Zurich
Video Call in: See Zoom information below agenda.
 We will also use an IRC channel to minute the discussions:
Address:  irc.w3.org  channel #epub3chem
 
Agenda
1.	Volunteer scribe
2.	Welcome to new folks
3.	Approve minutes - find them at:
https://www.w3.org/2019/02/20-epub3cg-minutes.html
Github issue for reference:
https://github.com/w3c/publ-cg/issues/66
4.	Action items
a.	volker can help on SVG being more navigable without JS. Probably
providing links.
b.	Publishers can explore their workflows to see if SVG is a
possibility.
5.	Proposed short term goals are:
The focus should be on making things work with the existing EPUB 3 standard
and existing EPUB 3 reading environments:
-PNG with Alt Text is now the common practice
- SVG with alt text as an improvement.
- Work on navigation of chemistry in SVG
- Identify the inline representation of chemistry. (the simple things)
- Work with publishers to achieve accessible chemistry from their workflows.
- Formalize the best practices or techniques.
- Identify the EPUB 3 reading systems that provide good support for SVG. 
- Identify the gaps in existing standards that hold us back from really good
representation of Chemistry.
6. Long term goals in a Chemistry CG that is linked to the Knowledge Domain
CG
5. Next call date and time
 
This meeting will be hosted on the Zoom system. 
Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: 
https://zoom.us/j/4065494687 
Or dial in on one of the numbers below, using the meeting  id:
406-549-4687
 
Telephone numbers:
US: +1 669 900 6833  or +1 929 436 2866 
Australia: +61 (0) 2 8015 2088 or +61 (0) 8 7150 1149
Brazil: +55 11 4680 6788 or +55 21 3958 7888
France: +33 (0) 1 8288 0188
Germany +49 (0) 30 3080 6188 or +49 (0) 30 5679 5800
Italy: +39 069 480 6488
Japan +81 (0) 3 4578 1488 or +81 524 564 439
Spain: +34 84 368 5025 or +34 91 198 0188
Sweden: +46 (0) 7 6692 0434 or +46 (0) 8 4468 2488
Switzerland: +41 (0) 31 528 0988
Netherlands: +31 (0) 20 241 0288
United Kingdom: +44 20 3051 2874 or +44 (0) 20 3695 0088
Other international numbers available: https://zoom.us/zoomconference
 
A full list of keyboard shortcut keys can be found at:
https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/205683899-Hot-Keys-and-Keyboard-Sh
ortcuts-for-Zoom
Some Keyboard Shortcuts for Windows
.            F6: Navigate among Zoom popup windows.
.            Ctrl+Alt+Shift: Move focus to Zoom's meeting controls
.            Alt+U:Display/hide Participants panel
.            Alt+Y: Raise/lower hand
.            Alt+A: Mute/unmute audio
.            Alt+V: Start/Stop Video
.            Alt+H: Display/hide In-Meeting Chat panel
.            Alt+N: Switch camera
.            Alt+F: Enter or exit full screen 
Received on Saturday, 9 March 2019 19:58:20 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:44:32 UTC