W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-epub3@w3.org > February 2019

Chemistry minutes, doodle pole, and more

From: George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>
Date: Mon, 25 Feb 2019 15:27:18 -0700
To: "W3C EPUB 3 Community Group" <public-epub3@w3.org>, "Transition to Accessible EPUB" <transition-to-accessible-epub@daisy.org>, "DIAGRAM Standards" <diagram_standards@benetech.org>
Cc: "Jessica White" <jessica.white@macmillan.com>, "Peter Murray Rust" <pm286@cam.ac.uk>, "Volker Sorge" <volker.sorge@gmail.com>, "Supalo, Cary A" <csupalo@ets.org>, "Dorine in 't Veld" <DorineintVeld@dedicon.nl>, "John Gardner" <john.gardner@ViewPlus.com>, "Judy Brewer" <jbrewer@w3.org>, "Janina Sajka" <janina@rednote.net>, "Liam R. E. Quin" <liam@fromoldbooks.org>, "John Pedersen" <jpederse@wiley.com>, "Soiffer, Neil" <soiffer@alum.mit.edu>, "Ron Ellis" <rone@benetech.org>, "Barrett, Dan" <Dan.Barrett@hmhco.com>
Message-ID: <001801d4cd59$450c3b80$cf24b280$@montana.com>
Dear All interested in Chemistry,
 
Minutes from February 20 are at:
https://www.w3.org/2019/02/20-epub3cg-minutes.html
 
The Doodle pole for our next call is at:
 <https://doodle.com/poll/r28i7dap4d3d8suq>
https://doodle.com/poll/r28i7dap4d3d8suq
 
Because this call is in the middle of the transition  between Standard and
Daylight Saving Time, we can do another Doodle pole after this one, which
should be able to set up a cadence for our calls going forward.
 
It is an interesting discussion on where this work should live. For me, it
seems best to keep this in the EPUB 3 Community Group, which is free to join
and provides the infrastructure we need. My reason for this is because our
focus is to develop a best practice for publishing. I do see the need for
more extensive development in developing SVG accessibility models for
Chemistry, but this seems to be a longer term objective; I also think the
SVG approaches we saw (which were terrific) require some funding to put
committed resources to properly resolve the issue.
 
Best
George
 
George Kerscher Ph.D.
-In our Information Age, access to information is a fundamental human right.
Chief Innovations Officer, DAISY Consortium
http://www.daisy.org
Senior Advisor, Global Literacy, Benetech
http://www.benetech.org
President, International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF) 
http://www.idpf.org
Member of the National Museum and Library Services  Board (IMLS)
http://www.imls.gov
Chair Steering Council Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), a division of the
W3C 
http://www.w3c.org/wai 
Phone: +1 406/549-4687
Cell:+1 406/544-2466 
Email: kerscher@montana.com
 
 
Received on Monday, 25 February 2019 22:29:15 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:44:31 UTC