W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-epub3@w3.org > September 2018

Re: Call for Consensus: Publishing EPUB 3.2 as a Final Community Group Report

From: Garth Conboy <garth@google.com>
Date: Thu, 27 Sep 2018 18:06:07 -0700
Message-ID: <CADExNBPJTi2DgKWC910CjMDHfzhC+X09_TPW=kQ4_Hy_aXHcbQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: MURATA Makoto <eb2m-mrt@asahi-net.or.jp>
Cc: public-epub3@w3.org
+1

Best,
   Garth

On Thu, Sep 27, 2018 at 5:54 PM MURATA Makoto <eb2m-mrt@asahi-net.or.jp>
wrote:

> I so, I am happy to replace my -1 to +1.  Dave, could you confirm?
>
> Regards,
> Makoto
>
> 2018年9月28日(金) 9:40 Matt Garrish <matt.garrish@gmail.com>:
>
>> Isn’t what you’re asking the responsibility of the business group,
>> though? This is only a call for consensus that the CG is done with the
>> revision, as I understand it, akin to what we used to do before requesting
>> the IDPF board approve a specification. I assume the BG can decide on a
>> review period and ask for any issues raised to be resolved before agreeing
>> to publish. It is stated that their job is to ensure full engagement and
>> agreement on the work of the CG among publishing group members.
>>
>>
>>
>> Matt
>>
>>
>>
>> *From:* MURATA Makoto <eb2m-mrt@asahi-net.or.jp>
>> *Sent:* September 27, 2018 19:58
>> *To:* public-epub3@w3.org
>> *Cc:* EPUB 3 Community Group <public-epub3@w3.org>
>> *Subject:* Re: Call for Consensus: Publishing EPUB 3.2 as a Final
>> Community Group Report
>>
>>
>>
>> -1
>>
>>
>>
>> I feel sorry to vote no, especially because I failed to
>>
>> attend the last teleconf.  I planned to argue against but
>>
>> I could not wake up at 01:00 AM.
>>
>>
>>
>> I have nothing against the process and quality of EPUB 3.2.
>>
>> It is by far the best in the EPUB 3 family.
>>
>>
>>
>> But I remember that Apple ignored reserved prefixed introduced
>>
>> as part of EPUB 3.0.1.  They have a reason.  By soliciting
>>
>> testimonials from key players in this are, I would like to
>>
>> avoid such an unfortunate situation.  Providing testimonials
>>
>> is a strong yes vote.
>>
>>
>>
>> But what happens if such key players find some issues
>>
>> when we ask them to provide testimonials?  Will we say
>>
>> "No, we won't fix them.  Too late."?  I would like to postpone
>>
>> the completion of EPUB 3.2 until we contact key players
>>
>> and get their testimonials.
>>
>>
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Makoto
>>
>>
>>
>> 2018年9月28日(金) 6:41 Kennedy, Naomi E <nkennedy@penguinrandomhouse.com>:
>>
>> +1
>>
>> On 9/27/18, 1:31 PM, "Dave Cramer" <dauwhe@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>>     Hi Everyone,
>>
>>     During our call today, the CG decided to recommend publishing EPUB 3.2
>>     as a final community group report.
>>
>>     This is a 72-hour-ish call for consensus: If you support the final
>>     publication of EPUB 3.2, please respond affirmatively to this email in
>>     the next 72 hours. A "+1" will suffice if you don't feel wordy. Please
>>     reply even if you were on the call today.
>>
>>     If you are opposed to the final publication, please let us know, and
>>     preferably with much more than a "-1".
>>
>>     Please respond by Midnight UTC on Monday, October 1, which is
>>
>>     5:00PM PDT Monday (San Francisco)
>>     8:00PM EDT Monday (New York)
>>     2:00AM CEST Tuesday (Paris)
>>     1:00AM BST Tuesday (London)
>>     8:00AM JST Tuesday (Tokyo)
>>     4:30AM IST Tuesday  (Chennai)
>>
>>     Thanks!
>>
>>     Dave Cramer
>>     co-chair
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> --
>>
>>
>> Praying for the victims of the Japan Tohoku earthquake
>>
>> Makoto
>>
>
>
> --
>
> Praying for the victims of the Japan Tohoku earthquake
>
> Makoto
>
Received on Friday, 28 September 2018 01:06:44 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Thursday, 24 March 2022 20:28:41 UTC