W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-dwbp-wg@w3.org > May 2015

Fwd: Spec review request: CSV on the Web

From: Phil Archer <phila@w3.org>
Date: Fri, 08 May 2015 14:18:33 +0100
Message-ID: <554CB7A9.5040608@w3.org>
To: Public DWBP WG <public-dwbp-wg@w3.org>
This wasn't in the archives, it should be


-------- Forwarded Message --------
Subject: Spec review request: CSV on the Web
Date: Mon, 20 Apr 2015 12:40:58 +0100
From: Dan Brickley <danbri@google.com>
To: public-web-security@w3.org, Wendy Seltzer <wseltzer@w3.org>, 
w3c@adambarth.com, virginie.galindo@gemalto.com, 
www-international@w3.org, Addison Phillips <addison@lab126.com>, Richard 
Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, public-privacy@w3.org, npdoty@w3.org, 
runnegar@isoc.org, tjwhalen@google.com, public-pfwg@w3.org, 
cooper@w3.org, janina@rednote.net, public-dwbp-wg@w3.org, 
Deirdre.Lee@deri.org, Hadley Beeman <hadley@linkedgov.org>, Yaso Córdova 
<yaso@nic.br>, Steven Adler <adler1@us.ibm.com>, Phil Archer 
<phila@w3.org>, Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>

The CSV on the Web Working Group [1] has just published a new set of
Working Drafts, which we consider feature complete and implementable.
We particularly
seek reviews from Web Security, Privacy, Internationalization and 
Accessibility
perspectives at this time. A request has also been sent to the TAG
[7]. We request
review now rather than later since we are following W3C's revised Process in
which there is no distinct Last Call; we prefer to invite reviews now
rather than wait for a formal Candidate Recommendation.

The drafts are:

Model for Tabular Data and Metadata on the Web [2]
- an abstract model for tabular data, and how to locate metadata that 
enables
users to better understand what the data holds; this specification also
contains non-normative guidance on how to parse CSV files.

Metadata Vocabulary for Tabular Data [3]
- a JSON-based format for expressing metadata about tabular data to inform
validation, conversion, display and data entry for tabular data

Generating JSON from Tabular Data on the Web [4]
- how to convert tabular data into JSON

Generating RDF from Tabular Data on the Web [5]
- how to convert tabular data into RDF

We are keen to get comments on these specifications, either as issues on
our GitHub repository [6]  or by
posting to public-csv-wg-comments@w3.org.

We would also like to invite people to start implementing these
specifications and to donate their test cases into our test suite.
Building this test suite, as well as responding to comments,
will be our focus over the next couple of months.


Dan



[1] http://www.w3.org/2013/csvw/wiki/Main_Page
[2] http://www.w3.org/TR/2015/WD-tabular-data-model-20150416/
[3] http://www.w3.org/TR/2015/WD-tabular-metadata-20150416/
[4] http://www.w3.org/TR/2015/WD-csv2json-20150416/
[5] http://www.w3.org/TR/2015/WD-csv2rdf-20150416/
[6] https://github.com/w3c/csvw/issues
[7] https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-tag/2015Apr/0028.html
Received on Friday, 8 May 2015 13:18:38 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:39:36 UTC