W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-dntrack-contrib@w3.org > April 2012

Re: call in info, W3C,DNT.Thurs.Noon eastern

From: Nicholas Doty <npdoty@w3.org>
Date: Wed, 18 Apr 2012 11:30:05 -0700
Cc: public-dntrack-contrib@w3.org, Chris Calabrese <ccalabrese@dcaclu.org>, Susan Grant <sgrant@consumerfed.org>, Ioana Rush <IRusu@consumer.org>, Pam Dixon <pdixon@worldprivacyforum.org>, Beth Givens <bethg@privacyrights.org>, John Simpson <john@consumerwatchdog.org>, Jeffrey Chester <jeff@democraticmedia.org>
Message-Id: <B0D0BC77-8146-46EF-B9A1-DCEE8392478F@w3.org>
To: Lee Tien <tien@eff.org>
Apologies I can't make this time as we have the kickoff call for the Privacy Interest Group tomorrow at 9am PT/12pm ET; that's an unfortunate conflict as we might have at least a few people who would like to attend both calls. 

In any case, I look forward to hearing follow-up about what's discussed and next steps!

Thanks,
Nick

On Apr 18, 2012, at 10:12 AM, Lee Tien wrote:

> Hi all,
> 
> Here's the call-in for Thursday's DNT call.  Jeff tried to send it but there was some bounce, so resending.
> 
> Lee
> 
> On Apr 18, 2012, at 3:49 AM, Jeffrey Chester wrote:
> 
>> #:1-218-936-4700
>> Access:  245550#
>> Problems:  Jeff's mobile: 1-202-4947100
>> 
>> On Apr 17, 2012, at 8:56 PM, Lee Tien wrote:
>> 
>>> Hi there,
>>> 
>>> All or most of you signed on to the Community Group document submitted to W3C in January.  We have had some talks since then, but we should have another one now that the DC f2f is over.  
>>> 
>>> Peter attended for EFF, and he worked closely with Jonathan Mayer of Stanford and Tom Lowenthal of Mozilla on a proposal.  (which is contained within this merge document of all the proposals, as is John's separate proposal)
>>> <5ComplianceMergedProposals.pdf>
>>> 
>>> 
>>> At the end of the week it was clear that the industry proposal from Shane Wiley of Yahoo! and the Eckersley/Lowenthal/Mayer proposal were the two left standing.  
>>> 
>>> Peter's very concise summary is here.  
>>> https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2012/04/will-industry-agree-meaningful-do-not-track
>>> John's comments are here.
>>> http://www.consumerwatchdog.org/blog/do-not-track-agreement-possible-only-if-industry-makes-concessionstoo
>>> 
>>> 
>>> We think that the next few weeks will be pretty important.  
>>> 
>>> Because time is short, John and I decided to have a call at 9 am Thursday Pacific time, hoping to get a fair number of us.  
>>> 
>>> Please let us know if you'll be able to make it.  I am happy to schedule another call to catch folks who really can't make this.  But we want to get the endgame started.  
>>> 
>>> I will try to pass on more information in later email.  
>>> 
>>> Thanks,
>>> Lee (and John)
>> 
> 
> 
Received on Wednesday, 18 April 2012 18:30:19 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:37:11 UTC