W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-canvas-api@w3.org > July to September 2011

Re: hit testing and retained graphics

From: Charles Pritchard <chuck@jumis.com>
Date: Fri, 01 Jul 2011 12:14:04 -0700
Message-ID: <4E0E1C7C.3060003@jumis.com>
To: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>
CC: "Blessing, Kimberly" <Kimberly_Blessing@Comcast.com>, Paul Bakaus <pbakaus@zynga.com>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>, Cynthia Shelly <cyns@microsoft.com>, "david.bolter@gmail.com" <david.bolter@gmail.com>, Frank Olivier <Frank.Olivier@microsoft.com>, "Mike@w3.org" <Mike@w3.org>, "public-canvas-api@w3.org" <public-canvas-api@w3.org>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "public-html-a11y@w3.org" <public-html-a11y@w3.org>
On 7/1/2011 12:02 AM, Henri Sivonen wrote:
> On Wed, 2011-06-29 at 14:23 +0000, Blessing, Kimberly wrote:
>> Consumer electronics manufacturers are buying in to HTML5 and my
>> understanding is that canvas could be used to render not just the
>> on-screen guides
> <canvas>  seems like a terrible tool for that job compared to HTML text
> styled using CSS. Why would CE manufacturers want to render on-screen
> guides using<canvas>?
>
They might render the background of the onscreen guides, or various 
image effects,
then overlay the onscreen guides using something else.

As far as things go: Canvas is a reasonably simple API. It can be 
implemented
with far less cost than SVG or CSS2.1. That's a good reason for 
independent manufacturers
to consider using only a subset of HTML5 to get things done.

It's also less resource-intensive than SVG/CSS, as it does not require 
specialized
scene graphs. In that sense, it can be programmed much like one programs 
assembly
language when targeting resource constrained environments.

Does that give you some information as to why a company might decide to 
limit
themselves to only a subset of standard web specs ?

-Charles
Received on Friday, 1 July 2011 19:14:58 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:10:31 UTC