W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-automotive@w3.org > February 2016

RE: Issue 72 - Getting Closure

From: Peter Winzell <Peter.Winzell@melcogot.com>
Date: Mon, 15 Feb 2016 08:36:24 +0000
To: Paul Boyes <pb@opencar.com>, Adam Abramski <adam.m.abramski@intel.com>, Dave Jensen <david@jensen47.com>, Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>, Natasha Rooney <nrooney@gsma.com>, "ted@w3.org" <ted@w3.org>, "Crofts, Adam" <acrofts1@jaguarlandrover.com>, Tobie Langel <tobie@sensors.codespeaks.com>, Jeff Payne <jp@opencar.com>, 刘大鹏(鹏成) <max.ldp@alibaba-inc.com>, "Adolph, Martin" <martin.adolph@itu.int>, "Gavigan, Kevin" <kgavigan@jaguarlandrover.com>, Shinjiro Urata <Shinjiro.Urata@access-company.com>, "public-automotive@w3.org" <public-automotive@w3.org>, "kevron.m.rees@intel.com" <kevron.m.rees@intel.com>, Peter Winzell <peterwinzell.gbg@gmail.com>
Message-ID: <7FA9E3F36D12454498D6C9A4FE42E34E1E898BDD@melcosse04.meaegot.local>
Hi Paul and All!

Looking at the test plan ahead I am wondering where we actually ended up after last weeks “debate”. Have we decided to refactor the API ? If so are we moving away from WebIDL ? It does have an impact on how we would implement tests.

Br
Peter Winzell

From: Paul Boyes [mailto:pb@opencar.com]
Sent: den 9 februari 2016 05:19
To: Adam Abramski; Dave Jensen; Kazuyuki Ashimura; Natasha Rooney; ted@w3.org; Crofts, Adam; Tobie Langel; Jeff Payne; 刘大鹏(鹏成); Adolph, Martin; Gavigan, Kevin; Shinjiro Urata; public-automotive@w3.org; kevron.m.rees@intel.com; Peter Winzell
Subject: Issue 72 - Getting Closure

Here is my quick attempt at summary of many of the issues raised in Issue 72:

Main Issue:

  *   DOM Events as opposed to or in addition to  subscriptions
  *   ondata versus subscribe
  *   on change versus subscribe

AdamC’s Summary of Main Issue:

  *   Dedicated handlers for each property

     *   vehicle.trip.onaveragespeedchange
·

     *   I don’t believe this will work in the case of setting a specific signal. You would have to have separate attribute for set and onchange which would get confusing.

  *   Generic observers

     *   vehicle.trip.averageSpeed.onchange
·

     *   May create lots of edge cases

  *   Specific observers

     *   vehicle.trip.averageSpeed.onaveragespeedchange
·

     *   Dramatically increase the quantity of APIs on vehicle

  *   Existing pub sub

     *   Not considered web friendly
·

     *   Inconsistent with other web technologies
Urata-sans Summary with Pros and Cons:
https://github.com/w3c/automotive/wiki


Ancillary Issues:

  *   complexity of zone
  *   suffixing interfaces
  *   Vehicle versus Sensors
  *   Web socket or REST calls to expose vehicle data
  *   Units

Talk with you all tomorrow.



Paul J. Boyes
--------------------------------
Mobile:   206-276-9675
Skype:  pauljboyes



Received on Monday, 15 February 2016 08:37:04 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 24 October 2017 18:52:45 UTC