W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > March 2001

Re: [AMG] Figure 2.1 suggested revision.

From: marwan sabbouh <ms@mitre.org>
Date: Wed, 14 Mar 2001 10:33:26 -0500
Message-ID: <3AAF8F46.877C7AEA@mitre.org>
To: Jean-Jacques Moreau <moreau@crf.canon.fr>
CC: Williams Stuart <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, "Henrik Frystyk Nielsen (E-mail)" <frystyk@microsoft.com>, "John Ibbotson (E-mail)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar (E-mail)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson (E-mail)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley (E-mail)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark A. Jones (E-mail)" <jones@research.att.com>, "Martin Gudgin (E-mail)" <marting@develop.com>, "Nick Smilonich (E-mail)" <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley (E-mail)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson (E-mail)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon (E-mail)" <ylafon@w3.org>, "'xml-dist-app@w3.org'" <xml-dist-app@w3.org>

Jean-Jacques wrote:
2.The XML Protocol message specifies a set of intermediaries to visit,
and the order in which they will be visited.
 The list of intermediaries, as
     specified by the sender, is called the initial path.


Instead of 2.  Can we say:

The XML Protocol message specifies one or more intermediaries to visit,
and .....

thanks
marwan






> Jean-Jacques Moreau wrote:
> 
> Stuart,
> 
> Following Mark Jones' example, and building on the Intermediaries
> discussion, Mark Nottingham's paper, and your own text, I would like
> to offer the following text as a starting point for a section on
> Intermediaries in the Abstract Model.
> 
> Feedback is welcomed.
> 
> Jean-Jacques.
> 
> PS. I have tried to keep the model simple, so my apologies in advance
> if you do not recognize your favorite feature.
> 
>     ---------------------------------------------------------------
> 
>                   Abstract Models for Intermediaries
> 
>            Jean-Jacques Moreau, Canon Research Centre France
> 
>         W3C XML Protocol Working Group, Abstract Model subgroup
> 
> An Abstract Model for Intermediaries
> 
> Concepts
> 
>   1. An XML Protocol message may be delivered through zero or more
>      intermediaries.
>   2. The XML Protocol message specifies a set of intermediaries to
>      visit, and the order in which they will be visited. The list of
>      intermediaries, as specified by the sender, is called the initial
>      path.
>   3. An XML Protocol intermediary may modify the path before
>      forwarding the message to the next intermediary in the chain, and
>      hence possibly change this next intermediary. This permits to
>      cater for cases where the full path is not known in advance, for
>      example where there exists a proxy or caching server along the
>      way.
>   4. An intermediary may only add to the path. More precisely, it may
>      only add one or more nodes to visit before the original next hop.
>   5. An intermediary must record its identity/address within the
>      message, before forwarding it to the next intermediary in the
>      path. This permits to record the actual route followed by the
>      message.
>   6. An XML Protocol response follows the same path as the
>      corresponding request, but in reverse order.
>   7. The recorded route is used to compute the reverse path.
>   8. When a fault occurs at an intermediary, further message
>      forwarding is cancelled, and the fault is delivered as a response
>      through the reverse path.
Received on Wednesday, 14 March 2001 10:45:33 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:59 GMT