W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > March 2001

Re: [AMG] Figure 2.1 suggested revision.

From: Jean-Jacques Moreau <moreau@crf.canon.fr>
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2001 11:46:51 +0100
Message-ID: <3AADFA9B.2975FD4C@crf.canon.fr>
To: "Williams Stuart" <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>
CC: "Henrik Frystyk Nielsen (E-mail)" <frystyk@microsoft.com>, "John Ibbotson (E-mail)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar (E-mail)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson (E-mail)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley (E-mail)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark A. Jones (E-mail)" <jones@research.att.com>, "Martin Gudgin (E-mail)" <marting@develop.com>, "Nick Smilonich (E-mail)" <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley (E-mail)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson (E-mail)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon (E-mail)" <ylafon@w3.org>, "'xml-dist-app@w3.org'" <xml-dist-app@w3.org>
"Williams, Stuart" wrote:

> Basically, I've been trying to match the picture with our eveloving glossary
> definitions. What I've done is to 'pull' the handlers back inside the XML
> protocol layer and dispatch them directly from the XML protocol processors.

I tend to see handlers as belonging to the application space, as Henrik, and hence it feels funny to
see them down below the XPLayer. Aren't you actually looking for a new service provided by that layer,
ie dispatching to handlers, and if so, shouldn't you introduce instead a new primitive (or adapt an
existing one)?

Jean-Jacques.
Received on Tuesday, 13 March 2001 05:47:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:58 GMT