W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > March 2001

RE: [AMG] Figure 2.1 suggested revision.

From: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <frystyk@microsoft.com>
Date: Mon, 12 Mar 2001 10:00:11 -0800
Message-ID: <002801c0ab1e$4856f1c0$b24c1fac@redmond.corp.microsoft.com>
To: "Williams, Stuart" <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau \(E-mail\)" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "John Ibbotson \(E-mail\)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar \(E-mail\)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson \(E-mail\)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley \(E-mail\)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark A. Jones \(E-mail\)" <jones@research.att.com>, "Martin Gudgin \(E-mail\)" <marting@develop.com>, "Nick Smilonich \(E-mail\)" <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley \(E-mail\)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson \(E-mail\)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon \(E-mail\)" <ylafon@w3.org>
Cc: <xml-dist-app@w3.org>

Hi Stuart,

I think I like the previous version better where we talked about an XML
Protocol Node being an XML Processor and its associated XML handlers

    An XML Protocol Node is an encapsulation of XML
    Protocol Handlers and their associated XML Protocol Processor.

And "sender" and "receiver" are roles where:

    An XML Protocol Sender is an XML Protocol Node that
    transmits an XML Protocol Message.

And

    An XML Protocol Receiver is an XML Protocol Node that
    accepts an XML Protocol Message.

(text taken from the latest glossary). Hope this makes sense.

My 0.02$ :)

Henrik

>I've been playing with Fig-2.1 and thought I'd see what you
>folks think. Attached are .PNG, .PDF and .PPT versions.
>
>Basically, I've been trying to match the picture with our
>eveloving glossary definitions. What I've done is to 'pull'
>the handlers back inside the XML protocol layer and dispatch
>them directly from the XML protocol processors.
>
>From an operational/service model point of view outbound
>messages pass through the handlers before being sent and on
>the inbound side the message passes through the handlers
>before being delivered (or relayed in the case of the intermediary).
>
>I rather like the identification of XMLP sender/receiver in
>this version of the diagram... it certainly fits with my
>notion of something (a user/client of the layer) that has a
>message to send and the thing to which it wishes to send it. I
>have left the oblique initiator/sender and responder/receiver
>because sender/receiver does *NOT* fit with a request/response
>operation - the removal of which I have yet to see a reasoned
>arguement for.
Received on Monday, 12 March 2001 13:00:53 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:58 GMT