W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > February 2001

RE: [AMG] Thoughts about path and intermediaries

From: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <henrikn@microsoft.com>
Date: Fri, 9 Feb 2001 08:20:04 -0800
Message-ID: <79107D208BA38C45A4E45F62673A434D01448421@red-msg-07.redmond.corp.microsoft.com>
To: "'dick@8760.com'" <dick@8760.com>, Martin Gudgin <marting@develop.com>, "Williams, Stuart" <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, Frystyk <frystyk@microsoft.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau (E-mail)" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "John Ibbotson (E-mail)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar (E-mail)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson (E-mail)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley (E-mail)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark Baker (E-mail)" <mark.baker@Canada.Sun.COM>, Nick Smilonich <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley (E-mail)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson (E-mail)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon (E-mail)" <ylafon@w3.org>
Cc: xml-dist-app@w3.org

>A good metaphor to help understand the relative complexities of the two
>approaches is to compare IP routing(packet switching) to SS7 routing
>(circuit based - used for call setup between telco switches).

As we don't have a uniform stream of data (audio for example) it would seem
impossible to set up a virtual circuit as it has to happen on a per message
basis. It appears to be a result of having a messaging infrastructure that
we need to have support for intermediaries.

Henrik
Received on Friday, 9 February 2001 13:32:57 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:58 GMT