W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > February 2001

RE: [AMG] : PPT of diagram

From: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <frystyk@microsoft.com>
Date: Fri, 9 Feb 2001 10:10:10 -0800
Message-ID: <006101c092c3$8aa4d470$308f3b9d@redmond.corp.microsoft.com>
To: "Williams, Stuart" <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau \(E-mail\)" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "John Ibbotson \(E-mail\)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar \(E-mail\)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson \(E-mail\)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley \(E-mail\)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark Baker \(E-mail\)" <mark.baker@canada.sun.com>, "Martin Gudgin \(E-mail\)" <marting@develop.com>, "Nick Smilonich" <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley \(E-mail\)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson \(E-mail\)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon \(E-mail\)" <ylafon@w3.org>
Cc: <xml-dist-app@w3.org>
>1) Are chained operations enough for you? From our discussions 
>I think not.
>
>2) If you want a single operation, through intermediaries, 
>which I think you
>do, do you have a problem with the notion of a distinct event 
>to pass the
>message 'up' to the XP handlers (encapsulated as an Intermediary
>Application) and a second distinct event to pass them down again?

I see - that makes a lot of sense - the current arrows in [1] are two
ways but if I understand you right you want them to be separated out to
indicate the direction. I have tried to illustrate this in [1] and [2]
although not given the "events" any names. Would that work?

Henrik

[1] http://www.w3.org/2000/xp/Group/1/02/01-xmlprotocol-model2.gif
[2] http://www.w3.org/2000/xp/Group/1/02/xmlprotocol-model2.ppt
Received on Friday, 9 February 2001 13:10:44 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:58 GMT