W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > February 2001

[AMG]: Glossary terms: XP Processor, XP Sender and XP Receiver.

From: Williams, Stuart <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>
Date: Thu, 1 Feb 2001 11:14:16 -0000
Message-ID: <5E13A1874524D411A876006008CD059F19218B@0-mail-1.hpl.hp.com>
To: "Henrik Frystyk Nielsen (E-mail)" <frystyk@microsoft.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau (E-mail)" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "John Ibbotson (E-mail)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar (E-mail)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson (E-mail)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Mark Baker (E-mail)" <mark.baker@canada.sun.com>, "Martin Gudgin (E-mail)" <marting@develop.com>, Nick Smilonich <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley (E-mail)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson (E-mail)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon (E-mail)" <ylafon@w3.org>
Cc: "'xml-dist-app@w3c.org'" <xml-dist-app@w3c.org>
Folks,

I'm trying to reconcile the terms, "XP Client" and "XP Layer entity" that I
used in the strawman [2], with terms and diagrams for "XP Processor", "XP
sender" and "XP receiver" from the requirements document [1].

I think that the narrative of the glossary and Figure 4 present an
inconsistent view. I prefer the implied by Fig 4 and would like to see the
narrative adjusted to be more consistent with Fig 4.

Figure 4 from [1] suggests a match between "XP processor" and "XP client"
which feels comfortable to me. It makes the "XP Processor" an 'application'
entity that handles application processing of an XP message once it has been
received and forms application messages to be send. 

The "XP sender" and "XP receiver" of figure 4 are then the entities that
actually deal with the rules of the protocol and the transfer of the message
over the 'wire' through the use of underlying protocols. That makes "XP
sender" and "XP receiver" from [1] match with "XP layer entity" from [2] and
really specialise it to the role of sending or receiving an XP message.

However, the text of the glosssary entries, suggests completely the
converse:

<extract>
XP processor 
An XP Processor processes an XP message according to the formal set of
conventions defined by the XML Protocol and generates an XP fault if the
conventions are not followed. Insufficient or wrong data carried in an XP
block can cause an XP processor to generate a fault (see also XP receiver
and XP sender) 

XP sender 
An application that can generate an XP message and perform an XP binding to
a specific protocol for the purpose of transmitting the message. 

XP receiver 
An application that can accept an incoming XP message transmitted using some
XP binding, extract the message from the XP binding and pass the message to
an XP processor. 
</extract>

The text yields match between "XP layer entity" and "XP processor" and
places "XP sender" and "XP receiver" as applications which for me matches up
with my notion of an "XP Client".

Thoughts, Comments?

Stuart

[1] http://www.w3.org/TR/2000/WD-xp-reqs-20001219/
[2] http://www.w3.org/2000/xp/Group/1/01/15-abstract-model/
Received on Thursday, 1 February 2001 06:15:13 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:58 GMT