W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-xml-schema-comments@w3.org > October to December 2005

Re: Part 2, 3.2.7.3 Timezones

From: Dave Peterson <davep@iit.edu>
Date: Tue, 27 Dec 2005 14:17:24 -0500
Message-Id: <a06230900bfd739a6b776@[192.168.0.9]>
To: Klaus Bosse <Klaus.Bosse@web.de>, www-xml-schema-comments@w3.org

At 6:44 PM +0100 12/27/05, Klaus Bosse wrote:
>current version:
>
>When a timezone is added to a UTC dateTime, the result is the date 
>and time "in that timezone". For example, 2002-10-10T12:00:00+05:00 
>is 2002-10-10T07:00:00Z and 2002-10-10T00:00:00+05:00 is 
>2002-10-09T19:00:00Z.
>
>future version (?):
>
>When a timezone-like duration is added to a UTC dateTime, the UTC 
>representation of the result is a date and time reflecting the 
>"local part" of the representation of the original dateTime relative 
>to that timezone. For example, 2002-10-10T12:00:00+05:00 is 
>2002-10-10T07:00:00Z and 2002-10-10T07:00:00Z+P5H results in 
>2002-10-10T12:00:00Z.

The entire section on the dateTime datatype has been rewritten within
the WG, but I don't know that a public for-comment version has gone
out yet.  I suggest you wait for that release, read it, and then see
if you can cast your comment in that context.  The structure of the
date/time datatypes are changed compared to Schema 1.0; although the
words have changed in the ensuing months, the writeup about the base
"technology" behind the new versions of date/time datatypes has a
pretty good explanation of what's going on, and may be found in appendix
section D.2 of the public draft of 16 July 2005:

http://www.w3.org/TR/2004/WD-xmlschema11-2-20040716/datatypes.html#d-t-values
-- 
Dave Peterson
SGMLWorks!

davep@iit.edu
Received on Tuesday, 27 December 2005 19:22:22 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Sunday, 6 December 2009 18:13:10 GMT