W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-webont-wg@w3.org > March 2002

minutes: March 21 WebOnt, for review

From: Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>
Date: 21 Mar 2002 12:41:50 -0600
To: Jim Hendler <hendler@cs.umd.edu>
Cc: webont <www-webont-wg@w3.org>
Message-Id: <1016736111.26064.109.camel@dirk>
On Wed, 2002-03-20 at 21:57, Jim Hendler wrote:
> WEB ONTOLOGY WORKING GROUP
> AGENDA/LOGISTICS
> Mar 21, 2002

> CHAT INFO

log:

http://www.w3.org/2002/03/21-webont-irc

> Chair: Hendler

scribe: DanC

> 1) Join call/attendance/admin (15 min)

see attendance details below

> ACTION (March 21): Frank van Harmelen: initial proposal for frame part of
> language
> Next Telecom

DONE; see below.

> ACTION: Peter Patel-Schneider to develop list of conditions on
> semantics of the language (in a cohesive form.).  Input requested from
> anyone.

Done. 
SEM DESIDERATA: my initial desiderata list
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-webont-wg/2002Mar/0173.html

> ACTION: Pat Hayes will do the same.

CONTINUES.

> ACTION (Mar 14) Guus Schreiber: turn CM examples into tests
> OPEN.

CONTINUES.

> ACTION (Mar 14) John Stanton: report back on different kinds of tests (very
> short)
> OPEN.

CONTINUES.

> 2) Face to Face Planning (Hendler, 30 min)
http://www.w3.org/2002/03/21-webont-irc#T17-12-16

>   What are expectations, goals, outputs for Amsterdam f2f
>   Solicitation of agenda items for f2f
>   Discussion of pre-f2f documents

JimH: ftf agenda due two weeks in advance, i.e. this monday.
Guus/DanC/Massimo and I plan to meet monday.

Focus group presenters/discussion leaders:

  TEST: Jeremy [to be confirmed by JimH]
  SEM: PeterPS
  LANG: Frank
  GUIDE: none yet; volunteers should
	contact the chair by Monday.

25 registered to attend.

Connolly offers regrets; Massimo to fill in as W3C Team contact.

Mike S has produced an initial issues list;
agrees to maintain it.
http://www.w3.org/2001/sw/WebOnt/webont-issues.html

as Mike doesn't plan to be at the ftf, JonB offers to fill in as
issues-maintainer there.

> 3) LANG: Language proposal(Van Harmelen, 30 min)
>    Discuss [1] - language functionality proposal
>    Discuss Next Steps, syntactic issues

discussion of
http://www.cs.vu.nl/~frankh/spool/OWL-first-proposal/

no decisions/actions. For some notes from
the discussion, see
  http://www.w3.org/2002/03/21-webont-irc#T17-50-10

> 4) A.O,B.

None.

Next meeting: in a week, per regular schedule.
Stefan to scribe.


Attendance info:

N   1.  *ALT James Barnette, Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA)
N   2. Einar Breen, Adaptive Media ASA
Y   3. Jonathan Borden, Jonathan@openhealth.org (Invited Expert; intro)
N   4. *ALTFrederik Brysse, Ivis Group, Limited
Frederik.Brysse@ivisgroup.com (intro)
Y   5. Stephen Buswell, Stilo Technology StephenB@stilo.com,
sb@stilo.com (intro)
N   6. Jeremy Carroll, Hewlett Packard Company jjc@hplb.hpl.hp.com,
jeremy_carroll@hp.com (intro)
Y   7. Dan Connolly, W3C Team contact connolly@w3.org
N   8. Jonathan Dale, Fujitsu Limited jdale@fla.fujitsu.com (intro)
Y   9. Jos De Roo, Agfa-Gevaert N. V. jos.deroo.jd@belgium.agfa.com
(intro)
N  10. *ALT D.C. De Roure, University of Southampton
dder@ecs.soton.ac.uk (intro)
Y  11. Mike Dean mdean@bbn.com (invited expert; intro)
E  12. Stefan Decker, Stanford stefan@db.stanford.edu (intro)
Y  13. Larry Eshelman, Philips Electronics N.V.
larry.eshelman@philips.com (intro)
R  14. Dieter Fensel, Ibrow, dieter@cs.vu.nl (intro)
R  15. Tim Finin, University of Maryland MIND Laboratory
finin@cs.umbc.edu (intro)
Y  16. Nicholas Gibbins, University of Southampton nmg@ecs.soton.ac.uk
(intro)
N  17. Pat Hayes, phayes@ai.uwf.edu (invited expert) (intro)
Y  18. Jeff Heflin heflin@cse.lehigh.edu (invited expert; intro)
Y  19. Ziv Hellman, <ziv@unicorn.com>, Unicorn Solutions Inc. (intro)
Y  20. James Hendler, Maryland Information and Network Dynamics Lab at
the University of Maryland hendler@cs.umd.edu (Co-Chair; intro)
R  21. Ian Horrocks, Network Inference horrocks@cs.man.ac.uk (intro)
N  22. Oisen Hurley, Iona Technologies, Inc. ohurley@iona.com (intro)
N  23. Francesco Iannuzzelli, <francesco.iannuzzelli@ivisgroup.com>,
Ivis Group Limited (intro)
N  24. *ALTMario Jeckle, Daimler Chrysler Research and Technology
mario.jeckle@daimlerchrysler.com (intro)
Y  25. Ruediger Klein, Daimler Chrysler Research and Technology
ruediger.klein@daimlerchrysler.com (intro)
E  26. *ALT Natasha Kravtsova, Philips Electronic N.V.
natasha.kravtsova@philips.com (intro)
Y  27. Ora Lassila, Nokia daml@lassila.org, ora.lassila@nokia.com
(intro)
N  28. *ALTAlexander Maedche, <maedche@fzi.de>, Forschungszentrum
Informatik (FZI)
N  29. Deborah McGuinness, Stanford dlm@ksl.stanford.edu (intro)
Y  30. Libby Miller, University of Bristol libby.miller@bristol.ac.uk
(intro)
N  31. Enrico Motta, Ibrow e.motta@open.ac.uk (intro)
Y  32. Leo Obrst, MITRE lobrst@mitre.org (intro)
N  33. Laurent Olivry EDF (Electricite De France) Laurent.Olivry@edf.fr
Y  34. Peter Patel-Schneider, Lucent Technologies
pfps@research.bell-labs.com (intro)
E  35. Martin Pike, Stilo Technology mp@stilo.com (intro)
Y  36. Marwan Sabbouh, MITRE ms@mitre.org (intro)
R  37. Guus Schreiber, Ibrow schreiber@swi.psy.uva.nl (Co-Chair;intro)
N  38. Shimizu Noboru, Interoperability Technology Association for
Information Processing, Japan (INTAP)
N  39. *ALT Michael Sintek, German Research Center for Artificial
Intelligence (DFKI) Gmbh sintek@dfki.uni-kl.de (intro)
Y  40. Michael Smith, Electronic Data System (EDS) michael.smith@eds.com
(intro)
N  41. John Stanton, Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA)
StantonJ@ncr.disa.mil stantonj@ncr.disa.mil (intro)
N  42. Lynn Andrea Stein, lynn.stein@olin.edu (invited expert; intro)
E  43. *ALT Patrick Stickler, Nokia patrick.stickler@nokia.com (intro)
Y  44. Said Tabet, Nisus, Inc.
Y  45. Herman ter Horst, Philips Electronic N.V.
herman.ter.horst@philips.com (intro)
N  46. Lynne R. Thompson, Unisys Corporation lynne.thompson@unisys.com
(intro)
Y  47. David Trastour, Hewlett Packard Company
david_trastour@hplb.hpl.hp.com, david_trastour@hp.com (intro)
Y  48. Frank van Harmelen, Ibrow Frank.van.Harmelen@cs.vu.nl (intro)
N  49. Raphael Volz, <volz@fzi.de>, Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI)
(intro)
Y  50. Evan Wallace, ewallace@cme.nist.gov, National Institute of
Standards and technology (intro)

Massimo

Ian joined later; maybe some other folks; check the IRC log
to be sure.


-- 
Dan Connolly, W3C http://www.w3.org/People/Connolly/
office: tel:+1-913-491-0501
mobile: mailto:connolly+pager@w3.org
Received on Thursday, 21 March 2002 13:41:53 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:57:48 GMT